Wrestling: Lattin, Naranjo, Wilde win at duals

-A A +A
By Mike Cote

ESPAÑOLA — The uphill climb proved too steep for the Los Alamos Hilltoppers in their quest to grab the District 2AAAA team title.Going in to Saturday’s 2AAAA duals meet, held at Española Valley’s Edward Medina Gymnasium, Los Alamos knew it would have to pull off a pair of pretty hefty upsets to grab the team title away from the host and two-time defending champ Sundevils.However, neither of those upsets materialized. Los Alamos lost its opening dual to Bernalillo 60-24 and its final dual to Española Valley 42-29.“We always try to do our best,” Hilltopper 152-pounder Zak Wilde said following the meet. “We did what we could, but what we could do wasn’t enough.”Española Valley went 4-0 in duals competition Saturday to nail down its third straight 2AAAA championship. Bernalillo, which lost only to Española Valley in its four contests, took the runner-up spot.The Hilltoppers beat fourth-place Capital and fifth-place Taos in team competition. Taos brought only four wrestlers to Saturday’s competition.Wilde was one of three ’Toppers to take individual district honors. Wilde pinned Española Valley’s Jacob Rivera in the first period to win at 152, his only bout of the day.“I’m a little upset I only had one match, but that’s the way the cards fell,” Wilde said.Blaine Lattin, wrestling at 189 pounds, scored three pins Saturday to reclaim his district title. This season’s title was considerably tougher to obtain than last season’s, when he didn’t have to wrestle once to earn the 2AAAA medal.Lattin needed a grand total of 5 minutes, 38 seconds to drop Joe Bonham of Bernalillo, David Chavez of Capital and Michael “Castro” Vigil of Española Valley.At 160 pound, Marshall Naranjo stuck Todd Toya of Bernalillo early in the second round in his first contest of the day, then held on for a 5-0 decision over Taos Felix Padilla. He also picked up two forfeit wins to take the district title in his weight class.Naranjo, who should advance to the Class AAAA championship tournament — brackets won’t be announced until Monday or Tuesday — tipped the scale at 147 Saturday morning. He said he didn’t to go into the AAAA tournament giving up nearly 10 percent of his body weight to his opponents.“I’m just going to have to stuff myself,” he said.Naranjo said he was happy that he won individual honors and was congratulatory to the Sundevils after their win.“I think the best team won district,” he said. “No excuses.”Not coincidentally, Los Alamos had the third-smallest contingent of wrestlers at Saturday’s meet, with nine bodies available. Bernalillo was short just one weight class and Española Valley was lacking just two.“I’m a little disappointed,” Los Alamos head coach Eric Sorenson said. “I hat to lose to Española Valley every darn year, but with nine wrestlers, it’s tough to come out on top.”Española Valley and Bernalillo both had five wrestlers earn district titles Saturday.Just missing out on his own 2AAAA title was Eric Carlson at 285, arguably the toughest weight class in the district.Carlson stunned both Española Valley’s Amos Maestas and Capital’s Matthew Salazar with quick first round pins. Salazar had particularly given Carlson fits all year, but to open their second round bout, Carlson crushed Salazar with a football-style tackle and had him on his back in just :39.Freshman Kameron Sanders won two of three contests Saturday at 130, as did Seth Holsapple, one at 171 and one at 215 — wrestlers can move up two weight classes.Holsapple needed only :15 to pin legitimate 215-pound Enrique Maestas of Española Valley to finish the day.

Bernalillo 60, Los Alamos 24103 — Brian Lovato, Bernalillo, forfeit.112 — Bobby Garcia, Bernalillo, p. Paul Martinez, 5:08.119 — Steven Lucero, Bernalillo, forfeit.125 — Kory Nelson, Los Alamos, forfeit.130 — Kameron Sanders, Los Alamos, p. Keonny Gonzalez, 2:57.135 — Kenny Gonzalez, Bernalillo, forfeit.140 — Frank Ceja, Bernalillo, forfeit.145 — Josh Galindo, Bernalillo, p. Brandon May, 2:19.152 — Zak Wilde, Los Alamos, forfeit.160 — Marshall Naranjo, Los Alamos, p. Todd Toya, 2:30.171 — Joe Calabaza, Bernalillo, p. Seth Holsapple, 1:46.189 — Blaine Lattin, Los Alamos, p. Joe Bonham, 1:57.215 — Carl Lente, Bernalillo, forfeit.285 — Chris Johnson, Bernalillo, p. Eric Carlson, :51.

Los Alamos 76, Capital 24103 — Christal Ortiz, Capital, forfeit.112 — Paul Martinez, forfeit.125 — Kory Nelson, forfeit.130 — Kameron Sanders major decision over Phillip Urioste, 19-9.145 — Brandon May p. Khan Muan, 1:29.152 — Zak Wilde, forfeit.160 — Marshall Naranjo, forfeit.171 — Gary Thorne, Los Alamos, forfeit.189 — Blaine Lattin p. David Chavez, :47.215 — Seth Holsapple, forfeit.285 — Eric Carlson p. Matthew Salazar, :39.

Los Alamos 52, Taos 6112 — Paul Martinez p. Max Suazo, 3:41.119 — Eugino Jeanette, Taos, forfeit.125 — Kory Nelson, forfeit.130 — Kameron Sanders, forfeit.145 — Brandon May, forfeit.152 — Zak Wilde, forfeit.160 — Marshall Naranjo decision over Felix Padilla, 5-0.171 — Seth Holsapple p. Mike Trujillo, :57.189 — Blaine Lattin, forfeit.215 — Gary Thorne, forfeit.285 — Eric Carlson, forfeit.

Española Valley 42, Los Alamos 29103 — Thomas Salazar, Española Valley, forfeit.112 — Adam Montoya, Española Valley, decision over Paul Martinez, 2-1.119 — Ramiro Ponce de Leon, Española Valley, forfeit.125 — Dino Gipson, Española Valley, decision over Kory Nelson, 6-1.130 — Lucas Monotya, Española Valley, p. Kameron Sanders, 5:29.135 — Angelo Medina, Española Valey, forfeit.145 — Mariano Montoya, Española Valley, p. Brandon May, 1:17.152 — Zak Wilde p. Jacob Rivera, 1:44.160 — Marshall Naranjo, forfeit.171 — Don Medina, Española Valley, p. Gary Thorne, :51.189 — Blaine Lattin p. Michael Vigil, 2:54.215 — Seth Holsapple p. Enrique Maestas, :15.285 — Eric Carlson p. Amos Maestas, :29.

Other team scores

Capital 30, Taos 24Española Valley 66, Capital 3Bernalillo 66, Taos 23Española Valley 58, Taos 15Española Valley 40, Bernalillo 35Bernalillo 48, Capital 24