Volleyball: Ealey named district's 2009 MVP

-A A +A
By The Staff

Los Alamos’ Taylor Ealey was named the District 2AAAA volleyball Most Valuable Player for the 2009 season.

Ealey, a senior, was given the nod by the district volleyball coaches after a solid 2AAAA season.

Los Alamos was well rewarded for its 9-0 district run in 2009, which was capped by a regular season and a 2AAAA championship tournament title. The Hilltoppers placed three players on the first team, as well as Ealey grabbing the MVP honors.

Along with Ealey, Alex Nichols, Molly Willms and Stephanie Abney, all seniors, were given first team nods for Los Alamos. Nichols was named MVP in the district in 2008.

Meanwhile, first-year Hilltopper head coach Garry Maskaly was named the district’s Coach of the Year for his part in guiding the Hilltoppers to their second-straight district title.

Representing the Hilltoppers on the All-District second team were junior Sabrina Little and seniors Nicole Moore and Oksana Tretiak.

Los Alamos was the only team from 2AAAA which will take part in the Class AAAA state tournament. The state tournament kicks off with pool play Thursday morning.

Here are the 2009 All-District 2AAAA selections.

First team

Alex Nichols, Los Alamos

Molly Willms, Los Alamos

Stephanie Abney, Los Alamos

Renee Roybal, Española Valley

Madlyn Romero, Española Valley

Marisol Peña, Española Valley

Vandora Montoya, Capital

Sarah Romero, Capital

Iesha Mitchell, Taos

Meghan Garcia, Bernalillo

Second team

Los Alamos: Sabrina Little, Nicole Moore, Oksana Tretiak

Española Valley: Karli Salazar

Capital: Rocio Archuleta, Stephanie Oellien, Shantel Kilkenny

Bernalillo: Scarlett Reano, Brenda Montaño

2AAAA Most   Valuable Player

Taylor Ealey, Los Alamos

2AAAA Coach of the Year

Garry Maskaly, Los Alamos