'Toppers pick up 11 All-District awards

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper football team received five All-District 2-4A first team offensive honors and six more first team honors on the defensive side for the 2013 season.

Los Alamos tied for the runner-up spot in 2-4A this year, going 3-1 in district games. Santa Fe won the district via a tiebreaker over Los Alamos and Bernalillo.

The two Most Valuable Player awards this season both went to the Bernalillo Spartans. Quarterback Ralf Olguin and middle linebacker Raymond Fasano picked up the top player awards.

The 2-4A coach of the year was Ray Holladay, who led Santa Fe to its second consecutive district title.
Among Los Alamos’ top performers, Xavier Dennison, Jonathan Schueler and Brian Geyer were both named to both the offensive and defensive first teams, with Geyer actually earning three nods, as he was named a top offensive lineman, defensive end and placekicker.

Also picking up first team honors for Los Alamos were Tristen Hill (wide receiver), James Higdon (safety), Seth Drop (cornerback) and Elliot Hersman (linebacker). Hersman was the defensive MVP of the district in 2012.

Here are the All-District 2-4A first and second teams:

1st team offense

Running back: Xavier Dennison, Los Alamos
Running back: Rayes Montaño, Santa Fe
Running back: Kevin Brown, Capital
Tight end: Mario Holladay, Santa Fe
Wide receiver: Marcus Jaramillo, Santa Fe
Wide receiver: Tristen Hill, Los Alamos
Wide receiver: Nick Reyes, Bernalillo
Offensive lineman: Jonathan Schueler, Los Alamos
Offensive lineman: Brian Geyer, Los Alamos
Offensive lineman: Johnny Loera, Santa Fe
Offensive lineman: Angel Ramirez, Santa Fe
Offensive lineman: Harlan Miller, Santa Fe
Offensive lineman: Jose Monclova, Bernalillo
Offensive lineman: Zach Ray, Bernalillo
Punter: Daniel Romero, Santa Fe
Kicker: Brian Geyer, Los Alamos

1st team defense

Safety: Mario Holladay, Santa Fe
Safety: James Higdon, Los Alamos
Cornerback: Bryan Guerrero, Bernalillo
Cornerback: Gabe Rivas, Española Valley
Cornerback: Seth Drop, Los Alamos
Inside linebacker: Isaiah Taylor, Santa Fe
Inside linebacker: Elliot Hersman, Los Alamos
Inside linebacker: Victor Trujillo, Bernalillo
Outside linebacker: Luis Molinar, Bernalillo
Outside linebacker: Xavier Dennison, Los Alamos
Defensive end: Jose Monclova, Bernalillo
Defensive end: Nicholas Borrego, Española Valley
Defensive end: Brian Geyer, Los Alamos
Defensive tackle: Jonathan Schueler, Los Alamos
Defensive tackle: Sevastian Gurule, Santa Fe
Defensive tackle: Troy Calabazas, Bernalillo
Kick returner: Kevin Brown, Capital
2nd team offense

Quarterback: Brice Van Etten, Los Alamos
Running back: Lucas Bustos, Española Valley
Running back: Devin Van Hoose, Bernalillo
Tight end: Victor Trujillo, Bernalillo
Wide receiver: Adrian Ornelas, Capital
Wide receiver: Bryan Guerrero, Bernalillo
Wide receiver: Seth Drop, Los Alamos
Offensive lineman: Daniel Bustos, Capital
Offensive lineman: Elijah Alva, Santa Fe
Offensive lineman: Josiah Candelaria, Bernalillo
Offensive lineman: Adrian Olivas, Española Valley
Offensive lineman: Collin Nickless, Los Alamos
Punter: Luke Lucero, Bernalillo
Kicker: Jaime Alvarado, Bernalillo

2nd team defense

Safety: Lucas Bustos, Española Valley
Safety: Marcus Jaramillo, Bernalillo
Cornerback: Samuel Jaques, Santa Fe
Cornerback: Scott Gasway, Los Alamos
Cornerback: Jamal Campbell, Bernalillo
Inside linebacker: Miguel Loya, Capital
Inside linebacker: Sam Ortiz, Los Alamos
Inside linebacker: Zach Ray, Bernalillo
Inside linebacker: Santi Vigil, Española Valley
Outside linebacker: Sidney Ellis, Los Alamos
Outside linebacker: Juan Olivas, Capital
Defensive end: Johnny Coriz, Santa Fe
Defensive end: Peter Brewer, Los Alamos
Defensive tackle: Isaac Angel, Santa Fe
Defensive tackle: Adrian Olivas, Española Valley
Defensive tackle: Collin Nickless, Los Alamos
Kick returner: Lucas Bustos, Española Valley

Offensive MVP: Ralf Olguin, QB, Bernalillo
Defensive MVP: Raymond Fasano, MLB, Bernalillo
Coach of the Year: Ray Holladay, Santa Fe