Teacher of the Year chosen

-A A +A
By Special to the Monitor

Ivanna Austell is Los Alamos’ 2009 Teacher of the Year. She is a 6th grade teacher at Aspen Elementary School who was thrilled when her name was announced.

“It is an incredible honor to be picked from such a distinguished group of teachers,” Austell said. “I know all of them and have worked with most of them and I can tell you that everyone of them is an awesome teacher who is worthy of this award. I’m just overwhelmed by this and it is something I will always remember.”

The announcement was made in a special ceremony during the annual Los Alamos Public Schools retirement party held at Fuller Lodge.

Nominees for the 2009 Teacher of the Year included:

• Nadine Crane

• Karen Forsyth

• Laura Gallimore

• Carol Hermes

• Rob Hipwood

• Paula Nichols

• Jenny Diesburg-Lathrop

• Becky Steritz

• Barbara Whitaker

Generous donations for the 2009 Teacher of Year were contributed by CB Fox, Los Alamos National Bank, LAPS Foundation, Los Alamos Schools Credit Union, Otowi Station Bookstore, Reel Deal Movie Theater, Ruby K’s Bagel Café, the Los Alamos School Board, Superintendent Mary McLeod and Assistant Superintendent Kate Thomas.