Scouts can enter to win a VFW scholarship

-A A +A

The Veteran’s of Foreign Wars Post 8874 is seeking a scout to compete for this year’s VFW Scout of the Year Scholarship. This is a program that provides a $5,000 scholarship award.
Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or a Sea Scout Ship who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Silver Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award are eligible to enter.
Scouts must be 15 years of age and have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community.
Scouts must be enrolled in high school at the time of selection.
All applicants still in high school who reach their 18th birthday during the nomination year remain eligible if otherwise qualified.
Scouts should submit the completed VFW Scouting Scholarship form, resume of high school activities, scouting record, community service record and letters of recommendation to the Veterans of Foreign Wars John D.
Gamble Post 8874, no later than March 1, 2013.
A Scout can enter through one VFW Post only.
Local VFW Posts select one winner from the entries received. Posts then submit their local winner to their respective VFW Department (state) by April 1. From there, the department selects a winner and forwards the entry to the VFW National Headquarters by May 1 for national-level judging.
Scouts can send an application to:
Veterans of Foreign Wars
John D. Gamble Post 8874
P.O. Box 388
1793 Deacon St.
Los Alamos, N.M. 87544
For forms and more information, visit vfw.org/Community/Scout-of-the-Year-Scholarship/.