Romero, Ortiz named to All-State team

-A A +A

Volleyball: Top LA seniors honored by NMHSCA

By The Staff

A pair of Los Alamos Hilltopper volleyball players were named to the All-State team for the 2012 season.
The All-State Class 4A team, which is selected by the coaches from around the state and tabulated by the New Mexico High School Coaches Association, included libero Danielle Ortiz and setter Savanah Romero among the top 4A performers of the year.
Ortiz and Romero, multi-year starters for the Hilltoppers, are both graduating seniors and were both vital to the success of Los Alamos’ program during their prep careers.
Romero averaged 9.4 assists per set in her senior year and committed just 14 errors from her setter position. Oritz had 5.6 digs per set and her dig total of 436 was more than any other two Hilltoppers this season, and Los Alamos scored 214 points with her at the service line, which also led the team.
This was the second statewide postseason honor for Ortiz, who was also named to the North All-Star team earlier this month.
State Class 4A champion St. Pius X put three players on the 4A first team. Piedra Vista also had two first team selections to go along with three second-team selections.
The NMHSCA also released the football All-State and Coach of the Year honors Thursday. No Hilltopper football players nor coaches were given All-State nods — top coaches are selected among all classifications.


Here are the All-State Class 4A selections for volleyball, football and state Coach of the Year:


First team

Lexi Biondi, OH, St. Pius
Amy Homer, OH, Artesia
Elizabeth Sun, S, Albuquerque Academy
Savanah Romero, S, Los Alamos
Katie Heagerty, MH, Piedra Vista
McKenna Culp, MH, Piedra Vista
Caitlyn Martinez, MH, St. Pius
Danielle Ortiz, libero, Los Alamos
Mercedes Pacheco, libero, St. Pius

Second team

Stephanie Sun, OH, Academy
Lauren Roveto, OH, St. Pius
Samantha Sofka, OH, Piedra Vista
Vanessa Harris, S, Piedra Vista
Renee Carrica, S, Goddard
Victoria Spragg, MH, Belen
Sam Matthews, MH, Artesia
Santana Parra, libero, Centennial
Brianna Murphy, libero, Piedra Vista


First team offense

Adam Lucero, QB, Aztec
Cody French, RB, Goddard
Jalen Chavez, RB, Los Lunas
Justin Manning, RB, Moriarty
Kullen Wooten, OL, Goddard
Alex Donaghe, OL, Artesia
Dakota Wood, OL, Los Lunas
Chris Chavez, OL, Goddard
Chris Romero, OL, Los Lunas
Miguel Rodriguez, WR, Artesia
Bryson Martinez, WR, Piedra Vista
Brad Hardin, TE, Aztec
David Sweet, punter, Goddard

First team defense

Isaac Parra, LB, Los Lunas
Brad Hardin, LB, Aztec
Fabian Soto, LB, Goddard
Greg Wortman, DE, Los Lunas
David Sweet, DE, Goddard
David Chavers, DL, Goddard
Tyler Hanson, DL, Los Lunas
Dillon Terry, DL, Piedra Vista
Cody French, DB, Goddard
Chris Sanchez, DB, Los Lunas
Adam Lucero, DB, Aztec
Mikey Martinez, DB, Los Lunas
Beau Clafton, kicker, Piedra Vista
Justin Manning, kick returner, Moriarty

Coaches of the Year

Football: Mario Trujillo, Santa Rosa
Volleyball: Mike Majors, Tatum
Boys soccer: Tommy Smith, Sandia Prep
Girls soccer: Amber Ashcroft, La Cueva
Boys cross country: Bob Jackson, Hobbs
Girls cross country: Stephanie McDonald, Navajo Prep