RLUOB team gets award from DOE

-A A +A

The Radiological Laboratory Utility Office Building (RLUOB) Transition Team at Los Alamos National Laboratory received the U.S. Department of Energy Secretary’s Achievement Award for its teamwork and performance.
LANL made an announcement of the award Tuesday.
“What the National Nuclear Security Administration achieved with its contract partner on the RLUOB/REI Project is our goal — safe, high-quality, state-of-the-art facilities that provide a great value to the taxpayer,” said NNSA Associate Administrator for Acquisition and Project Management Bob Raines. “The NNSA and the RLUOB/REI Project team demonstrated that final metrics of cost and schedule can be achieved when clear expectations are set, the federal and contractor site and headquarters teams are aligned and all parties accept accountability for their role in project delivery.”
LANL Director Charlie McMillan presented the RLUOB Transition Team with the award Aug. 28. The team consisted of Brett Cederdahl, David Gallimore, Tim Leckbee, Mark Myatt, Tim Nelson, Michael Parkes, Denise Thronas, Scott Warnock and Amy Wong.
“The cross-organizational team that we honor exemplifies our belief in inspiring the best talent to perform at the highest level,” McMillan said. “This team has shown dedication, tenacity and excellence in accomplishing its work.”
The RLUOB, a high-tech analytical laboratory, will allow LANL and DOE to advance national security science and support DOE missions in a more modern, safe and efficient infrastructure.
According to LANL, facilities like RLUOB are essential to implementing NNSA’s Plutonium Infrastructure Strategy and are also becoming increasingly important to the lab’s recruiting and retention strategy for the workforce of the future.
“Transitioning RLUOB from a line-item construction project to an operating radiological facility is a significant accomplishment,” said Tim Nelson, Los Alamos’ Plutonium Strategy Infrastructure program director.
 “This transition to operations represents a important milestone in the modernization of plutonium infrastructure and establishes a path forward.”