Ribbon cut on Hawks solar array

-A A +A
By Bernadette Lauritzen

A rousing tune kicked off the morning as community entities came together to celebrate Hawks Array last week.
The Los Alamos Middle School Hawk Band, under the direction of Barry Beckett added pomp and circumstance to the praise of many dignitaries that gathered at Los Alamos Middle School.
Visitors were greeted by LAMS Student Council members and treated to refreshments before the official school board meeting, as a quorum was present.
According to the website, Los Alamos Public Schools was one of 15 districts selected to receive federal stimulus monies to create the project.
The quick efforts of Los Alamos Public Schools, Los Alamos County, The University of New Mexico-Los Alamos and Sacred Power Corporation will have local, state, national and global capabilities when it comes to increasing education.
More than 60 community members attended the festivities, including former County Councilor Robert Gibson, Councilor Fran Berting, School Board President Melanie McKinley and members Jody Benson, Thelma Hahn and Kevin Honnell, as well as Richard Fialho of Sacred Power Corporation.
Principal Donna Grim welcomed guests and remarks were heard from Los Alamos County Utilities Manager John Arrowsmith, Dr. Cedric Page of UNM-LA and Michele Jacquez-Ortiz, from Sen. Tom Udall’s office.
“Los Alamos has always been a leader in tackling America’s most pressing energy challenges and you are blessed to live in a community that values ideas, that cultivates innovation, and that strives to make a positive impact, both locally and globally,” Udall said in a letter read by Jacquez-Ortiz. “Your hard work dedication and partnership with the federal government are what brought Hawk’s Array to fruition.”
A ribbon cutting was held with more than
20 pairs of scissors used to cut the ribbon. Guests were then invited to keep their piece of the project.
LAPS Superintendent Dr. Gene Schmidt provided complimentary remarks after the ribbon cutting, to the many members involved in making the project a reality. Those members include; Allison Griggs, Robert Gibson, John Wolfe, June Gladney, Andrew Erickson, Matt Dickens, Dave Foster, Donald Davis and Emilio Racinez.
“Their vision for renewable energy and their educational hopes for our community stand before us today,” Schmidt said.