Quartet of 'Toppers named to 1st team

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper volleyball team picked up four nods for this year’s All-District 2-4A first team volleyball squad.
Los Alamos finished second in the regular season standings in 2-4A in 2013 and third in the district tournament, posting a record of 5-3 in district play (13-9 overall).
Topping the list of first team honorees for the Hilltoppers were a trio of front-line players, Sam Fenner, Brianna Montaño and Claire Stewart. Libero Alyssa Tedder was also selected to the All-District first team.
From her post on the outside, Montaño was Los Alamos’ top kill collector in 2013. The sophomore finished with 143 total kills and a team-best 2.2 kills per set.
Fenner, a senior, was third on the team with 113 total kills.
In her spot on the back line, Tedder was credited with 229 digs on the season, a team high, and also had a team-high 129 points off her service chances.
Sierra Foley and Michaela Pigue were named to the 2-4A second team.
As expected, Española Valley’s Elana Salazar was named the Most Valuable Player of the year, while Damon Salazar of Española Valley was the Coach of the Year, leading the Sundevils to an undefeated district regular season.

Here are the 2013 All-District 2-4A selections:

First team

Danisha Romero, Bernalillo
Adriana Ochoa, Capital
Celina Naranjo, Española Valley
Kayla Romero, Española Valley
Victoria Valdez, Española Valley
Samantha Fenner, Los Alamos
Brianna Montaño, Los Alamos
Claire Stewart, Los Alamos
Alyssa Tedder, Los Alamos
Cassandra Flores, Santa Fe
Hannah Hargrove, Santa Fe

Second team

Deanna Lopez, Bernalillo
Arielle Martinez, Española Valley
Kaitlyn Romero, Española Valley
Ashlynn Trujillo, Española Valley
Marissa Trujillo, Española Valley
Sierra Foley, Los Alamos
Michaela Pigue, Los Alamos
Shannon Bates, Santa Fe
Isabella Christian-Padilla, Santa Fe
Kayla Herrera, Santa Fe
Sabrina Lozada-Cabbage, Santa Fe

Honorable mention

Samantha Melton, Los Alamos
Venessa Martinez, Los Alamos
Kiana Zerr, Los Alamos

Most Valuable Player

Elana Salazar, Española Valley

Coach of the Year

Damon Salazar, Española Valley