Primary set for today

-A A +A

Election > Smith Auditorium to be used as third voting center

By Arin McKenna

The 2014 primary election is Tuesday and Los Alamos County Voter Centers are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Voters should note that the Vote Center originally located at the golf course community building has been moved to the Duane W. Smith Auditorium, 1300 Diamond Drive. The county was unable to obtain a temporary certificate of occupancy from the state in time for the election.
The other two locations are
• White Rock Fire Station 3, 129 N.M. 4
• County municipal building, 1000 Central Avenue, (Boards and Commissions Room 110)
Los Alamos County voters registered in any precinct may vote at any of the Vote Centers on Election Day.
New Mexico is a closed primary state. Under New Mexico law, only registered Democrats and Republicans may vote in the Primary.
County Clerk Sharon Stover hopes to show election results in real time utilizing the new technology in council chambers at the municipal building. The technology will also allow the results to be broadcast on the clerk’s webpage.
Stover also informed council on Tuesday that voter registration is up four percent since 2012.
Follow the Los Alamos Monitor for election night coverage.
Primary election candidates in competitive races:
Democratic Party
United States Representative District 3
• Ben R. Lujan
• Robert Blanch
• Howie C. Morales
• Alan M. Webber
• Lawrence D. Rael
• Gary K. King
• Linda M. Lopez
State Treasurer
• Tim Eichenberg
• John Wertheim
District Judge
• Matthew Justin Wilson
• David K Thomson
• Yvonne K. Quintana
County Council
• Edward R Birnbaum
• Michael D Redondo
• David Izraelevitz
• Andrea Susan Cunningham
• Mary Susan O’Leary
Republican Party
United States Senator
• Allen E. Weh
• David Kale Clements
State Representative
• Vincent P. Chiravalle
• Geoff Rodgers