Primary candidate forum features House District 43 and judges May 9

-A A +A

The Los Alamos League of Women Voters invites the public to the final candidate forum to introduce candidates who have opposition in the June 5 primary election.

The forum is scheduled for 7 p.m. May 9 at Fuller Lodge.

Come to the forum on Wednesday, May 9, at Fuller Lodge. Refreshments and conversation with the candidates will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Candidates expected to attend this forum will be:

• First Judicial District Court Judge, Division 2: Gregory S. Shaffer, Donna M. Bevacqua-Young, Maria E. Sanchez-Gagne, and Jerry A. Archuleta (all Democrats);

• First Judicial District Court Judge, Division 5:  Jason Lidyard and Matthew Jackson (both Democrats)

• New Mexico House of Representatives, District 43: Pete Sheehey and Christine Chandler (both Democrats).
All of the judicial candidates listed above are Democrats; there is no Republican opposition.  Hence, the winner in each division will become the only candidate for the November election.

The Democrat who wins the primary election for House District 43 will face the Republican candidate Lisa Shin in November.

Before the November 6 general election, the League will hold a round of forums for all of the candidates on the November ballot.  

These forums will include those who appeared at our May 3 forum: the top four from the County Council Democrats (David Izraelevitz, Quentin David Dimick, Sara C. Scott, James N. Robinson, Randall T. Ryti, Timothy Thomas Morrison) and the winner of the Republican Sheriff candidates (James William Whitehead and Hugh J. Rich).

Those who have not registered, or anyone who wants to change their registration so they can vote in the primary, can do so online at portal.sos.state.nm.us/OVR/WebPages/InstructionsStep1.aspx, or at the County Clerk’s office in the Municipal Building.  

The deadline is May 8.

To vote early, visit the County Clerk’s office Monday to Friday, 8-5 from May 8 to June 1.

From May 19 to June 2 the Council Chambers and the White Rock Town Hall will be open for early voting from 8-6, Monday to Saturday.

On June 5, Primary Election Day, the vote centers will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Building, the White Rock Town Hall, and the Golf Course Community Building, and the Betty Ehart Senior Center, downstairs classroom.

Absentee ballots are due to the County Clerk by 7 p.m. on June 5.