A presidency is set for LDS Santa Fe stake

-A A +A
By Special to the Monitor

A new stake presidency was established for the Santa Fe Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Elder Russell M. Nelson, a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, along with Elder Jonathan C. Roberts of the Quorum of the Seventy, traveled from Salt Lake City to establish  the new presidency.

 The new  presidency was made during the stake conference  held Aug. 29-30.

The Santa Fe Stake consists of congregations located in Santa Fe, Los Alamos, White Rock, Española, Taos, Tres Piedras, Las Vegas, Chama, El Camino Real Spanish speaking Branch and Peñasco.

The role of a stake president is to preside over a stake along with counselors.

They are responsible for all the affairs, both temporal and spiritual, of the stake and its members.

A clerk and an executive secretary assist them.

The newly called president of the stake is Michael S. Zollinger with Stephen E. Betts as first counselor and Cary B. Skidmore as the second counselor.

They fill these roles following the nine-year service of Russell T. Pack, who served as president, Michael S. Zollinger, first counselor and Richard E. Mason as second counselor.