People in the News 01-23-11

-A A +A

Julia A. Kautz of Los Alamos made the scholastic honor roll for the fall term at Oregon State University. Kautz is a junior and pre-civil engineering major. To be on the honor roll, students must carry at least 12 graded hours of course work.

n n n

Ten students from the Los Alamos area are among the 625 students on the 2010 fall semester dean’s honor roll at Eastern New Mexico University.
The following students, made the honor roll. Their majors are listed after their names. Samara Fellows, medical technology; Christina Flavin, mathematics composite; Susan Hargreaves, music education; Robert Hockaday, digital cinema arts; Jessica Huff, business administration; Cheyenne Lattin, wildlife and fisheries science; Mercedes Sanford, early childhood education; Gary Thorne, physical education; Gabrielle Vigil, digital cinema arts; and Nikole Vigil, art.
To be eligible for the dean’s honor roll students must complete a minimum of 15 hours for the semester and maintain a 3.25 GPA.

n n n

Alex Kendrick of Los Alamos High School is one of 300 seniors from 173 high schools across the country to be named a semifinalist in the Intel Science Talent Search 2011, a program of Society for Science and Public. As the nation’s oldest and most prestigious pre-college science competition, the Intel Science Talent Search brings together the best young scientific minds in the country to compete for $1.25 million in awards.
Like the other semifinalists, Kendrick, 17, will receive a $1,000 award from the Intel Foundation with an additional $1,000 going to Los Alamos High. His project was titled: Electromagnetic Detection of Aquifers.
Forty of the semifinalists will be named as finalists on Jan. 26 and will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. from March 10-15. They will compete for more than $630,000 in awards provided by the Intel Foundation. Winners will be selected based on rigorous judging sessions and announced at a black-tie gala ceremony at the National Building Museum on March 15.
Semifinalists were selected from 1,744 entrants and hail from 30 states and the District of Columbia. To learn about specific semifinalists and view a state-by-state breakdown, visit www.societyforscience.org/sts.