Ortiz, Knapp named Players of the Year

-A A +A

Football: Williams picks up Coach of the Year honors

By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper football team dominated the postseason honor roll for District 2-4A.


The All-District honorees were announced Monday. Los Alamos swept the three biggest honors, taking the offensive and defensive players of the year titles as well as the Coach of the Year.

Garett Williams, only in his second season of leading the Hilltoppers, took the Coach of the Year honors for 2011 after guiding his team to a perfect 4-0 record in district competition, including knocking off two-time 2-4A champ Bernalillo and preseason district favorite Santa Fe in consecutive weeks.

Junior Arnoldo Ortiz, who went over the 100-yard rushing mark in all four district games from his fullback spot, was named the Offensive Player of the Year. On Oct. 9, Ortiz rushed for a whopping 206 yards on 25 carries (an 8.2-yard average) against Bernalillo, the best performance of his career.

The Defensive Player of the Year Award went to linebacker David Knapp. Knapp, a senior, anchored the Hilltoppers all season and led the team to three shutout victories during 2-4A play.

Along with Oritz and Knapp, Los Alamos picked up seven additional first-team awards. Nathan Robbins, a four-year starter on the offensive and defensive line for the Hilltoppers, was the only senior to be picked for the first team.

Other first-team honorees for the Hilltoppers included Clint Adams, Alan Dahl, Jake Downs Cory Geyer, Jared Mang and Grant Washburn. Dahl, Washburn and Robbins were selected to the first team for two positions.
Additionally, five Hilltoppers were named to the second team and seven were selected for the All-District academic team.

Los Alamos finished the season with a 6-5 mark and advanced to the postseason for the first time since 2008. It was beaten 55-0 in the first round of the state Class 4A playoffs by Los Lunas.

First team

Los Alamos

Clint Adams, DE
Alan Dahl, OL, DT
Jake Downs, CB
Cory Geyer, TE
Jared Mang, LB
Nathan Robbins, OL, DT
Grant Washburn, OL, DE

Santa Fe

Joshua Roybal, RB, S
Moses Montoya, S
Anthony Abeyta, FB
Marcus Alarid, DE
Daniel Jacquez, CB
Zach Lopez, OL
Jared Francisco, DL


DeVante Thomas, QB
Clayton Pankey, OL
Devin Samora, OL
Donovan Aguilar, CB


Anthony Segura, RB
Angel Lopez, RB
Marcus Jaramillo, DL
Ivan Olivas, LB

Española Valley

Jesus Chavez, TE
Lucas Bustos, DB

Second team

Los Alamos

Seth Drop, CB
Danny Finn, QB
Jared Mang, RB
Arnoldo Ortiz, LB
Brice Van Etten, S

Honorable Mention

Los Alamos

John Gibson, OL
Peter Brewer, OL
Jake Downs, WR
Clint Adams, OL

Academic All-District

Los Alamos

Alan Dahl
Cory Geyer
John Gibson
Jared Mang
Nate Robbins
Jonathan Schueler
Skyler Veenis

Santa Fe

Joshua Roybal
Mario Holladay
Ricardo Martinez
Hayden Hargrove
Isaiah Taylor


Tyler Longley
Jonathan Lithgow
Clayton Pankey
Devin Samora
Josiah Candelaria
Luke Lucero
Jose Monclova
Ray Fasano
Devin VanHoose


Orlando Dominguez

Española Valley

Jesus Chaves
Hector Chavira
Michael Aragon
Jorge Loya

Offensive Player of the Year

Arnoldo Ortiz, Los Alamos

Defensive Player of the Year

David Knapp, Los Alamos

Coach of the Year

Garett Williams, Los Alamos