Mang named district Player of Year

-A A +A
By The Staff

The two athletes named as the District 2-4A Players of the Year in baseball and softball came as no surprise to anyone.
Hilltopper sophomore Jared Mang, who was the team’s top pitcher and hitter, earned the Player of the Year selection in baseball, while Bernalillo’s dominating pitcher Demi Magdalena was named Player of the Year for 2-4A softball.
The all-district teams were released this morning. Los Alamos’ top players were prominent in both sports, grabbing five baseball first team slots and four softball first team slots.
For Mang, it was his second consecutive Player of the Year honor. Mang has been starting — and hitting third in the batting order — since his eighth grade year. He was named to the 2-4A first team in 2011 and had a strong case to win the Player of the Year honor that season as well, but his age was likely a factor in the decision to give that year’s award to Ricky Gonzales of Española Valley.
Also for Los Alamos’ baseball team, Mike Gill earned his fifth consecutive Manager of the Year honor from the district. Gill has led Los Alamos to five straight 2-4A titles, with the Hilltoppers going 11-1 in the district in 2013.
For softball, Magdalena led Bernalillo’s Spartans to an 11-1 district record, with their only defeat of the regular season coming at the hands of the Hilltoppers.
Hilltopper infielders Micaela Christensen, Erin Kirk and Dancie Smith were all named to the first team along with pitcher Kiana Zerr.
Los Alamos finished second in the 2013 softball race behind Bernalillo and advanced to the Class 4A playoffs. Bernalillo’s Manuel Montaño was named the district’s Manager of the Year.
For baseball, Jake Downs, Tristen Hill, Connor Mang and Steven Williams were all named to the All-District first team along with Jared Mang.





First team


Daneila Cordova, Bernalillo

Rachel Duran, Bernalillo

Char Foster, Bernalillo

Dee Lopez Bernalillo

Alyssa Glaze, Capital

Candyce Bustos, Española Valley

Selena Valencia, Española Valley

Micaela Christensen, Los Alamos

Erin Kirk, Los Alamos

Dancie Smith, Los Alamos

Kiana Zerr, Los Alamos

Jackie Martinez, Santa Fe

KK Porras, Santa Fe

Xeala Porras, Santa Fe


Second team


Lois Delora, Bernalillo

Jocylin Jones, Bernalillo

Ashley Perez, Bernalillo

Jennifer Gonzales, Capital

Jamie Page, Capital

Marina Padiall, Española Valley

Monique Vigil, Española Valley

Kristin Christensen, Los Alamos

Alyssa Mojica, Los Alamos

Cristina Perez, Los Alamos

Krysta Salazar, Los Alamos

Destiny Chavez, Santa Fe

Brianna Hopkins, Santa Fe

Selena Romero, Santa Fe

Alex Russell, Santa Fe


Player of the Year

Demi Magdalena, Bernalillo


Manager of the Year

Manuel Montaño, Bernalillo




First team


Izzy Chavarria, Bernalillo

Adam Chavez, Bernalillo

Aaron Griffith, Bernalillo

Elias Archuleta, Española Valley

Jesus Chavez, Española Valley

Jacob Osegueda, Española Valley

Jake Downs, Los Alamos

Tristen Hill, Los Alamos

Connor Mang, Los Alamos

Steven Williams, Los Alamos

Tres Chaires, Santa Fe

Korwin Mueller, Santa Fe

RJ Porras, Santa Fe

Gabe Valdez, Santa Fe


Second team


Devin Samora, Bernalillo

Josh Urban, Bernalillo

Derrick Chavez, Capital

Antonio Dominguez, Capital

James Naranjo, Capital

Ivan Solis, Capital

Danny Martinez, Española Valley

Adrian Olivas, Española Valley

Collin Kitts, Los Alamos

Wesley Moss, Los Alamos

Eduardo Hernandez, Santa Fe

Jordan Vialpando, Santa Fe


Player of the Year


Jared Mang, Los Alamos


Manager of the Year


Mike Gill, Los Alamos