Logan, Veenis are 2-4A first teamers

-A A +A
By The Staff

To the winners go the spoils. To the third-place finishers goes not much.
There wasn’t much hardware handed out to the Los Alamos Hilltopper girls basketball team in the way of postseason honors by District 2-4A. Los Alamos earned just one first team nod and two second team nods for the year.
The All 2-4A selections were announced Monday.
Point guard Amber Logan was the only Hilltopper to make the first team for 2013-14. Along with Logan, forward Kiana Zerr and shooting guard McKenzie Logan were named to the second team.
Los Alamos, which made the Class 4A playoffs, was awarded just one more 2-4A postseason honor than Capital, which didn’t win one game last season.
The Santa Fe Demons, who won the 4A championship, picked up both the Most Valuable Player Award, for Kayla Herrera, and Coach of the Year for Elmer Chavez.
Los Alamos’ boys, who won only two games last season, had two selections. Shooting guard Skyler Veenis was named to the first team All-District, while point guard Franklin Archuleta picked up a second team award.



First team

Rachel Darnell, Bernalillo
Alexis Lovato, Española Valley
Kaitlyn Romero, Española Valley
Ashlynn Trujillo, Española Valley
Amber Logan, Los Alamos
Sabrina Lozada-Cabbage, Santa Fe
Jackie Martinez, Santa Fe

Second team

Alleah Candelaria, Bernalillo
Deanna Lopez, Bernalillo
Julissa Gandera, Capital
Selena Gonzales, Capital
Kayla Romero, Española Valley
McKenzie Logan, Los Alamos
Kiana Zerr, Los Alamos
Andrea Gonzales, Santa Fe

Most Valuable Player

Kayla Herrera, Santa Fe

Coach of the Year

Elmer Chavez, Santa Fe


First team

Carl Herrera, Bernalillo
Eric Coca, Capital
Ivan Olivas, Capital
Bobby Ray Sisneros, Española Valley
Skyler Veenis, Los Alamos
Warren Fulgenzi, Santa Fe
Hayden Hargrove, Santa Fe

Second team

Santiago Dominguez, Bernalillo
Josh Urban, Bernalillo
Elias Archuleta, Española Valley
DJ Curtis, Española Valley
Marcos Flores, Española Valley
Franklin Archuleta, Los Alamos
Keanyan Evans, Santa Fe
Julio Rivera, Santa Fe

Most Valuable Player

Jared Garduño, Española Valley