Lobos take two top honors in Mountain West postseason awards

-A A +A
By The Staff

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — New Mexico has taken two top honors in the Mountain West postseason awards.

Steve Alford has been named coach of the year for the second straight season after leading the No. 8 Lobos (28-3) to the league title.

Meanwhile, New Mexico swingman Darington Hobson, a junior college transfer, has become the first person to be named conference player of the year and newcomer of the year.

Hobson led the Mountain West in rebounding, averaging 10.1 rebounds per game, and ranked third in scoring at 14.9 points per game.

Joining Hobson as first-team All-Mountain West members are BYU's Jimmer Fredette, New Mexico's Dairese Gary, San Diego State freshman Kawhi Leonard and UNLV's Tre'Von Willis.

BYU's Jonathan Tavernari is sixth man of the year while Utah's David Foster was named defensive player of the year.