Library announces winners of bookmark contest

-A A +A
By The Staff

Los Alamos County Library System announced winners Thursday for the Design a Bookmark competition for students that was revived in May.
“We were so excited to bring this program back after a few year hiatus,” said Angie Manfredi, Head of Youth Services. “It’s a fun activity for the kids and the library gets some cool new bookmarks to hand out!”
The library received hundreds of entries thanks to the participation of local schools. Library staff judged each anonymous entry and the votes were tabulated to establish winners by grade.
In some cases, the results ended in ties. The entries were based around the library’s summer programming theme of “Build a Better World.”
All winners and those who earned honorable mentions received gift certificates to the Friends of the Library bookstore and their designs were turned into bookmarks that are now available to the public at both the Mesa Public Library and the White Rock Branch Library.
“We’re excited to have the bookmarks ready now that school is back in session,” Manfredi said. “We think it’s a great way to kick off this school year and we’re grateful that the program was so successful due to the cooperation and participation of the schools.”
Stop by the library to see all the great designs and pick out a favorite to mark your place in all your favorite books.
The 2017 Design a Bookmark Contest Winners and Honorable Mentions are:
• Kindergarten winner was Rebekah Scott; honorable mentions were Norah Fox and Ajila Bock.
• First-grade winner was Rafa Rocha; honorable mentions were Sophia Pakin and Lucia Rudin.
• Second-grade winners were Grace Montoya, Cecelia Pietryga and Mattéa Clarkson, a three-way tie.
• Third-grade winner was Lauren Dickens; honorable mentions were Ellery Rathburn, Emily Xu and Margaret Kelley.
• Fourth-grade winners were Isabelle Morgan and Harry McKigney; honorable mention was Samuel Carmer.
• Fifth-grade winner was Isabel Meana; honorable mentions were Ava Carlson and Ivelyss Sandoval.
• Sixth-grade winner was Blayne Bingham; honorable mentions were Elizabeth Adams and Alex Livescu.
For more information on how to participate in fun library events like the bookmark contest, check out the library website at www.losalamoslibrary.org or like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/LosAlamosLibraries/ .