LA's Ortiz picked for North All-Stars

-A A +A

Volleyball: ’Toppers Kirk, Romero and Stewart make first team All 2-4A

Los Alamos Hilltopper Danielle Ortiz earned a pair of volleyball honors for her performance in the 2012 season.
Ortiz, a senior libero for the Hilltoppers, was named to the North All-Star team for her performance this season.
In her senior year, Ortiz was credited with 436 digs in 78 sets played and committed just 41 errors in 1,237 service-receive chances this season.
Ortiz was the only player from District 2-4A selected for the North All-Star team this year.
The North and South All-Stars are selected by the New Mexico High School Coaches Association. The 4A-5A All-Star Game is scheduled for July 29, 2013 at Bulldog City in Albuquerque.
Oritz and three of her teammates were also named as first team All-District 2-4A selections this season. Seniors Savanah Romero and Erin Kirk, and junior Claire Stewart also picked up first team nods from Los Alamos.
Kirk was among the top statistical hitters in 2-4A this season, earning a total of 255 kills and was successful on 32.7 percent of her attempts. Stewart was third among the Hilltoppers in total kills (163) and Romero earned 610 assists, averaging 9.4 assists per set played.
Los Alamos won its fifth consecutive 2-4A championship this season, going 7-1 in district play. Española Valley, the runner-up in both the regular season and district tournament, had three selections on the first team All-District squad.
Among All-State selections, Ortiz was one of five Class 4A players picked to participate for the North team in the All-Star contest, the others being Katie Hegarty of Piedra Vista and Lexi Biondi kof St. Pius X and Stephanie Sun and Elizabeth Sun from Albuquerque Academy.

Here are the 2012 All-District 2-4A volleyball selections:

First team

Ashley Sorensen, Capital
Ariana Romp, Capital
Amanda Mae tas, Española Valley
Elana Salazar, Española Valley
Kayla Romero, Española Valley
Savanah Romero, Los Alamos
Danielle Ortiz, Los Alamos
Erin Kirk, Los Alamos
Claire Stewart, Los Alamos
Hannah Hargrove, Santa Fe
Sabrina Lozada-Cabbage, Santa Fe
Adrianna Salazar, Santa Fe

Second team

Danisha Romero, Bernalillo
Deana Lopez, Bernalillo
Bella Navarro, Bernalillo
Alyssa Glaze, Capital
Lauren Watson, Capital
Adriana Ochoa, Capital
Nicole Romero, Española Valley
Ashlynn Trujillo, Española Valley
Kristan Archuleta, Española Valley
Samantha Fenner, Los Alamos
Briana Montaño, Los Alamos
Allyssa Tedder, Los Alamos
Kayla Herrera, Santa Fe
Mary Padilla, Santa Fe
Tristan Holmes, Santa Fe

Honorable Mention
Anelisia Peña, Bernalillo
Victoria Vargas, Capital
Nathalie Nichols, Capital
Miquela Larranaga, Capital
Celina Naranjo, Española Valley
Katie Romero, Española Valley
Morgan Schake, Los Alamos
Cassandra Flores, Santa Fe
Andrea Gonzales, Santa Fe