LA girls are 4th in Arizona

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper girls cross country team rolled to an impressive fourth place finish at last weekend’s Desert Twilight Festival.
Los Alamos finished fourth at the Desert Twilight meet, a huge regional meet run in Mesa, Ariz. Los Alamos finished with 149 team points and were one of just five teams to finish south of 200 points at the meet.
The Hilltopper girls place four runners among the top 30 team scorers Friday night in the Sweepstakes race, the highest level race of the numerous races run there. They were paced by Talia Dreicer who came in 25th among the competing team racers with her time of 18 minutes, 43 seconds, clocking just over 6:02 per mile.
Sophia Galvez, Maddy Foley and Mikalya Pulliam also finished in the top 30 overall.
The girls race was won by Desert Vista of Phoenix, which featured individual champ Dani Jones and third-place finisher Baylee Jones. Desert Vista earned just 61 points, but surprisingly, didn’t run away with the team title, as Xavier College Prep, also of Phoenix, earned 80 points to finish in second place.
On the boys side, Colin Hemez had a huge day. Hemez, a senior and Los Alamos’ top runner, placed 11th individually and 10th among team racers with his time of 15:39, averaging about 5:03 per mile in his huge showing.
Hemez nipped Jeffery Miller of Page, Ariz., at the line. Miller was the top finisher for Page, which took second in the boys overall standings.
As a team, Los Alamos took eighth overall. Los Alamos had 278 team points.
Following Hemez, senior Mike Walker was 43rd overall, finishing in 16:17.
In all, 21 girls teams and 27 boys teams competed in the Sweepstakes race, the top category at the Desert Twilight Festival.
Also for Los Alamos, two boys and two girls entered the Large School Varsity competition. Both pairs of runners finished eighth and ninth in those races.
Hayden Walker finished in 16:59 in the boys large school race, one second ahead of teammate John Rees. For the girls, Julia O’Brien was eighth (20:44), followed by Eliana Riciputi (20:48).

Here are Los Alamos’ individual finishers at the Desert Twilight Festival:

25. Talia Dreicer, 18:43; 28. Sophia Galvez, 18:47; 29. Maddy Foley, 18:50; 30. Mikayla Pulliam, 18:51; 37. Nica Vasquez, 18:58; 41. Katy Stockton, 19:11; 43. Amanda Mercer, 19:13.

10. Colin Hemez, 15:39; 43. Mike Walker, 16:17; 55. Gus Saeger, 16:23; 68. Greg Ahlers, 16:35; 102. Cameron Staples, 16:55; 124. Forrest White, 17:17; 131. Conner Bailey, 17:21.