Golf: Johnson, Sanchez will attempt to defend their 07 City crowns

-A A +A
By Mike Cote

A pair of reigning champions will look to defend their titles this weekend at Los Alamos Golf Course.

Tim Johnson and Eddie Sanchez will be among the 47 men entered in the 2008 Los Alamos City Championship Tournament, which starts Saturday with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. The tournament is scheduled to continue through Sunday at LAGC.

In 2007, Johnson took the men’s city title, topping Jason Norman by two strokes and Curt Norman by six strokes.

Johnson had an even-par 72 in round one, putting him three shots ahead of Jason Norman, but struggled on the first 18 of day two, shooting a 7-over, while Norman carded 75 both days.

In the final nine – last year’s tournament was 45 holes, this year’s is scheduled for 36 – Johnson shot a 1-over while Norman had a 3-over on the last nine holes.

Norman will be coming in less than three weeks beyond his runner-up finish at the Atomic City Invitational, where he had one of the best final matches in recent memory with his 28-hole showdown against eventual champ Lee Sanchez.

Johnson and Norman will go out together starting on the 18th hole Saturday, along with Nick Brady.

In the senior men’s division, Eddie Sanchez will try to defend his 2007 title. Sanchez is also coming off a win at the ACI, where he topped Bruce Takala in the final.

Sanchez finished with a 5-over in the 36-hole senior’s event last year.

Sanchez is scheduled to start on 13 Saturday, playing along with Bruce Norman and John McBride.

Due to a lack of participation, there was no women’s title handed out in 2007. Only two women played in the tournament, Sarah Anast and Whitney Burkett. They were placed in the men’s flight during last year’s competition.

This year, 16 women are entered into the draw.

Ev Griggs and Anita Dunmar, multiple past tournament champions, are scheduled to compete in this year’s tournament, as is past champion Barbara Schmitt.

Schmitt and Griggs will tee off from 12 in the first round, while Dumar starts with her group on 14.

Here are the groupings for Saturday’s first round of the Los Alamos City Championship:

1A – Don Branch, Tom Courtney, Eddie Padilla

1B – Leonard Trujillo, Mark Smith, Steve Fellows

8A – Judi Briesmeister, Alicia Herrera, Bethany Rich

8B – Laura Kelly, Ann Marie Graves, Jane Zongker, Sue Rokop

9 – Alma Sondreal, Anna Swertfeger, Loretta Olivas

10A – Larry Rich, Jamie Aslin, Larry Goen

10B – Jay Staton, Tim Branch, Manny Rivera, Wade Nelson

11A – Luis Trujillo, Trey Frazier, Thomas Herrera

11B – Brian Fearey, Greg Juerling, Steve Birdsell

12 – Barbara Schmitt, Ev Griggs, Lynne Taylor

13A – Bruce Norman, Eddie Sanchez, John McBride

13B – Randy Balice, Ron Ellis, Forrest Brown, Neil Thompson

14A – Anita Dunmar, Young Nielson, Tami Martinson

14B – John Stam, Bruce Takala, Ed Joyce

15 – Marv Carpenter, Rich Ryder, John Sutton, Don Rokop

16 – Gary MacDonald, Harry Rosenblum, Jim Lawrence, Johnny Silva

17A – Gary Rich, Curt Norman, Pat Metzger

17B – Darren Knox, Sam King, Jerry Buffington, Vance Boone

18 – Jason Norman, Nick Brady, Tim Johnson