Football: Schleft earns district honor

-A A +A
By The Staff

Los Alamos senior Ryan Schelft earned a top honor for the 2009 football season.

Schleft, a versatile threat coming out of the Hilltopper backfield, was named the Offensive Player of the Year for this season, District 2AAAA officials announced Wednesday.

Schleft started the season at quarterback for the Hilltoppers but moved to running back full time in the second game of the season and became both a rushing and pass-catching threat.

Los Alamos finished as the District 2AAAA runner-up this season, earning a 3-1 district mark. Its only loss in district was to eventual champion Bernalillo, which earned a tight, 14-0 decision to win its first football title since joining the district in 2005.

Schleft and nine other Hilltoppers were selected to the All-District first team. Other honorees included seniors Wade Archuleta, Kirk Webber, Joey Martinez, Austin Wolstein; juniors Kory Balog, David Brock, Cody Vaughan; and sophomores Nate Robbins and David Knapp.

Ivan Luna was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year in 2AAAA, while Bernalillo’s Ken Noel was named Coach of the Year.

Hilltopper head coach Bob Scott announced his retirement earlier this month after 20 years of guiding the program. Scott was named Coach of the Year in 2008.

Here are the All-District 2AAAA selections for 2009.

First team

Los Alamos

Ryan Schleft

Wade Archuleta

Kirk Webber

Joey Martinez

Austin Wolstein

Kory Balog

David Brock

Cody Vaughan

Nate Robbins

David Knapp


Walo Martinez

Dakota Swinehart

Max Suazo

Anthony Labella


Beau Graham

Joseph Chavez

Marcus Jaramillo

Kevin Morales

Adam Villegas

Jesse Sanders

Robert Manzanares

Española Valley

Ryan Fresquez

Estevan Borrego


Ivan Luna

Alan Favela

Josh Mares

James Roy

Zach Martin

Zach Padilla

Dustin Toledo

Juan Molinar

Joe Bonham

Jordan Ludi

Omar Luna

Second team

Los Alamos

Mike Sanchez

Kyle Stephens

Wes Osborn

Jose Ortiz

Taylor Morrison

Christian Perea

Daniel Christensen

Honorable Mention

Los Alamos

Justin Trujillo

Brad Lungstrom

Offensive Player of the Year

Ryan Schleft, Los Alamos

Defensive Player of the Year

Ivan Luna, Bernalillo

Coach of the Year

Ken Noel, Bernalillo