Eight researchers named APS Fellows

-A A +A

The American Physical Society (APS) has selected eight LANL scientists as 2011 Fellows. The APS is a nonprofit organization working to advance the knowledge of physics through its research journals, scientific meetings, outreach, advocacy, and international activities.
It represents 48,000 members worldwide, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry. Only half of one percent of APS members can be elected to Fellowship yearly.
And the new APS Fellows are:
• Michael (Misha) Chertkov of Physics of Condensed Matter and Complex Systems: “For fundamental theoretical contributions in statistical hydrodynamics and physics of information and algorithms.”
• Timothy Germann of Physics and Chemistry of Materials: “For fundamental contributions to the application of large-scale molecular dynamics simulations to the study of shock-induced plasticity and phase transitions in metals, as well as applications of these techniques in the development of large-scale agent-based models in computational epidemiology.”
• Fernando Grinstein of Methods and Algorithms: “For outstanding technical leadership in the formalization, development, and validation of novel large-eddy simulation strategies, and for their application to transitional and turbulent flows.”
• Marcelo Jaime of Condensed Matter and Magnet Science: “For pioneering techniques in the study of thermal properties of materials in high pulsed magnetic fields and for contributions to the understanding of colossal magnetoresistance compounds, Kondo insulators, correlated-electron systems, and quantum magnets.”
• Bogdan Mihaila of Materials Technology — Metallurgy: “For contributions to the development of accurate numerical methods for the study of nonlinearity in many-body theory with applications to cold-atom, condensed matter, nuclear, and high-energy physics.”
• Dean Preston of Materials and Physical Data: “For rigorous scientific contributions in the field of shock compression theory, and in particular for contributions leading to a better understanding of material strength at very high strain rates.”
• Charles Reichhardt of Physics of Condensed Matter and Complex Systems: “For seminal work on the dynamics of collectively interacting particles on random or periodic substrates, including superconducting vortices, colloids, electron crystals and Bose-Einstein condensates.”
• Cynthia Reichhardt of Physics and Chemistry of Materials: “For characterization of collective phenomena in driven systems with long-range interactions, and including nonequilibrium phase diagrams, avalanches, noise and fractal flow.”