Cross country: Toppers thump district teams

-A A +A
By Mike Cote

As it has been for the entire decade, Thursday's District 2AAAA cross country meet was a green-out.

The Los Alamos Hilltopper boys and girls teams crushed all comers at the 2AAAA championship meet, held at Caja del Rio in Santa Fe. The Hilltopper boys took four of the top five individual places and seven of the top nine to finish with just 18 points, while the Hilltopper girls swept all five top spots to finish with a picture-perfect 15 points.

Senior Gareth Gilna captured the district's individual championship in his final district race of the season, dominating the rest of the field with his time of 16 minutes, 37 seconds.

For the Hilltopper girls, sophomore Megan Reader earned the first 2AAAA individual title of her career with a time of 20:23.

The two teams flip-flopped their 2AAAA team scores from 2007 when the girls finished with 18 points and the boys earned a perfect 15.

With their wins, both teams will now advance to the state Class AAAA meet, which will be held Nov. 8 at Rio Rancho High School. The AAAA boys race will start at 10:30 a.m. and the girls race is scheduled for a 12:30 p.m. start time.

Earning all-district honors for the Hilltopper girls were Reader, Ariana Rowberry, Holly Walker, Victoria Honnell, Hannah Little and Victoria Trujillo.

Gilna, Nat Gustafson, Austin Jacobson, Andrew Vierra, Kevin Hemphill, Ian Pulliam and Kyle Pittman all earned boys all-district honors.

Here are Los Alamos' results from Thursday's District 2AAAA championship meet.


Team scores

1. Los Alamos, 15; 2. Bernalillo, 72; 3. Taos, 76; 4. Española Valley, 85; Capital, no score.

Individual results

1. Megan Reader, 20:23; 2. Ariana Rowberry, 20:44; 3. Holly Walker, 20:57; 4. Victoria Honnell, 21:02; 5. Hannah Little, 21:15; 10. Victoria Trujillo, 22:03; 11. Elizabeth Brug, 22:08.


Team scores

1. Los Alamos, 18; 2. Española Valley, 59; 3. Capital, 79; 4. Taos, 92; 5. Bernalillo, 135.

Individual results

1. Gareth Gilna, 16:37; 2. Nat Gustafson, 17:00; 4. Austin Jacobson, 17:19; 5. Andrew Vierra, 17:34; 6. Kevin Hemphill, 17:35; 7. Ian Pulliam, 17:41; 9. Kyle Pittman, 18:14.