Cross country: LA boys 9th, girls 14th at regional meet

-A A +A
By The Staff

Members of the Los Alamos Hilltopper boys cross country team finished in ninth place at this weekend’s regional championship meet.
The Nike Cross Southwest Regional Championship was held Saturday in Mesa, Ariz. Both Los Alamos teams qualified for the meet. The top two teams at the regional meet earned automatic bids to the Nike Cross Nationals, which will be held in Portland, Ore., Dec. 4.
In the boys race, competitors from Los Alamos — per New Mexico regulations, the teams could not directly represent Los Alamos High School — earned 370 points to crack the top 10 in team competition.
In the girls race, Los Alamos finished with 386 points. In that race, Julia Foster of Albuquerque Academy earned the regional individual title with her time of 17 minutes, 39 seconds.
The regional meet included teams from Utah, Colorado, Nevada, Arizona and New Mexico. The two automatic qualifiers for the Nike Cross National meet in the boys race were American Fork, Utah, which won the team title with 44 points and Fort Collins, Colo., which was second with 91 points.
In the girls race, Fort Collins (134 points) and Louisville, Colo. (135 points), took the top two spots. In all, 28 teams competed in the girls race and 33 in the boys race.
For Los Alamos, Jennifer Mooday was the top girls finisher, placing 58th overall in the girls race and Daniel Roybal was 60th in the boys race.
In the boys open race, for underclassmen and sub-varsity level runners, Adam Lang of Los Alamos finished eighth overall with a time of 16:41. In the girls open race, both Janali Gustafson and Elizabeth Brug finished in the top 12 individually with Gustafson recording a time of 19:50 and Brug posting a time of 19:54.

Here are Los Alamos’ final results at the Nike Cross Southwest Regional Championship:

Girls championship race

58. Jennifer Mooday, 19:38; 74. Megan Reader, 19:48.65; 75. Teresa Sandoval, 19:48.96; Anna Wermer, 19:57; 95. Eliana Riciputi, 20:08; 116. Victoria Honnell, 20:35; 118. Emily Pittman, 20:39.
Boys championship race

60. Daniel Roybal, 16:25; 65. Sean Reardon, 16:27; 68. Alex Romero, 16:30; 84. Zach Breshears, 16:43; 93. Tim Wermer, 16:50; 101. Josh Bowman, 16:53; 128. Ian Pulliam, 17:12.

Girls open race

9. Janali Gustafson, 19:50; 12. Elizabeth Brug, 19:54; 29. Mikayla Pulliam, 20:37; 33. Miranda Barraza, 20:42; 61. Amanda Mercer, 21:49; 82. Katie Bowman, 23:17; 164. Becky Mehlin, 23:50; 176. Caroline Rousculp, 24:36.

Boys open race

8. Adam Lang, 16:41; 24. Nick Hill, 16:59; 43. Zak Kennison, 17:24; 54. Daniel Romero, 17:35; 63. Aaron Roybal, 17:49; 256. Nathan Lang, 19:50; 265. Noah Simpson, 20:01; 303. Evan Anderson, 21:36; 310. Mathias Lam, 22:17.