Cross country: Hipwood named to All-Time RMAC men’s team

-A A +A
By The Staff

Los Alamos High School cross country coach Rob Hipwood has received another big honor for his collegiate career.

Hipwood was named to the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference All-Time Men’s Cross Country Team.

The All-Time RMAC teams were chosen in honor of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the conference. RMAC celebrated its 100th birthday in March and is the fourth-oldest collegiate athletic conference in the country.

Hipwood was a national champion cross country runner for Adams State College (Alamosa, Colo.) during the mid 1980s.

Adams State joined the RMAC in 1956.

During Hipwood’s collegiate career, which spanned from 1983-1986, he was a three-time All-Conference selection. He won the conference individual championship in 1984 and helped ASC to four National Association of Intercollegiate Athletic team championships.

In 1985, Hipwood won the NAIA individual cross country championship.

ASC dominated the selections for RMAC’s men’s team with 10 spots on the 12-man team. The other two runners were from Western State.

One of Hipwood’s teammates on the 1986 national championship squad, Rick Robirds, was also an All-Time selection.

In 2007, Hipwood was named to the ASC Hall of Fame for his success with the Grizzlies.

Hipwood has been the co-head coach of the cross country program at LAHS since the 1994 season along with wife Kathy. During that span, the boys and girls teams have won a total of 12 state championships (two boys’ titles, 10 girls’ titles).

RMAC was originally known as the Colorado Faculty Athletic Conference and included four charter members: University of Colorado, Colorado A & M (now Colorado State), Colorado College and Colorado School of Mines.

It changed its name to Rocky Mountain Faculty Athletic Conference in 1910, then to RMAC in 1967.

In all, 31 colleges have at one time or another been a part of the conference.

All-Time Conference teams were selected in all men’s and women’s sports. ASC placed 43 total athletes on those teams.

ASC’s Joe I. Vigil (1967-1994) was named All-Time Coach for the men’s program.