Basketball: Coles, Vigil represent valley on 2011 North All-Star teams

-A A +A
By The Staff

A pair of Española Valley Sundevils will represent their school at this year’s Class 4A/5A basketball All-Star Games.
Sundevils Justine Vigil and Rodney Coles were selected for the North’s big school All-Star team for the 2010-11 season.
Coles and Vigil led their teams to District 2AAAA titles in 2010-11, while Coles spearheaded a late run in the Class 4A championship game as Española Valley topped Goddard, giving the Sundevils their first boys basketball title in school history.
The All-Star teams are selected by the New Mexico High School Coaches Association. Players must be graduating seniors to be eligible for the teams.
Los Alamos, which had no seniors on the boys basketball team and only three seniors on the girls basketball team, didn’t garner a selection this year. Taylor Ealey, formerly of Los Alamos, was picked for the 2009-10 season.
Only one other 2AAAA player besides the two Española Valley representatives was named to either team. Santa Fe’s top player, Orlando Echave, was selected for the boys team.
Coles and Vigil were both named 2AAAA’s Player of the Year this season.
The 4A/5A girls game will be played June 10 at Cibola High School in Albuquerque. The big school boys game is set for July 28 at Mayfield High School in Las Cruces.

Here are the selections for the 4A/5A All-Star teams:


North All-Stars

Marial Medina, Del Norte
Madeline Muraida, Albuquerque Academy
Justine Vigil, Española Valley
Amber Battle, Cibola
Meghan Yazzie, Kirtland Central
Kristyn Bates, Piedra Vista
Jamie Parker, La Cueva
Camille Boal, Sandia
Madison Lopez, Eldorado
Raquel Alozono, West Mesa
Dominique Lozano, Valley
Kayla Dobson, Eldorado

South All-Stars

Ashley Pearson, Clovis
Shancie Steenholdt, Roswell
Justin Praire Chief, Gallup
Elena Holguin, Mayfield
Stacy Charlie, Gallup
Shalyn Payne, Hobbs
Summer Patterson, Hobbs
Kathy Barto, Chaparral
Sharayah Newton, Las Cruces
Desirea Allen, Roswell
Shanetelle Smith, Miyamura


North All-Stars

Mario Flores, Valley
Chris Strong, Eldorado
Mike Holyfield, Manzano
Eric Bouma, Manzano
PJ Horgan, Cleveland
Rodney Coles, Española Valley
Mario Molina, Volcano Vista
Orlando Echave, Santa Fe
Isaiah Sanchez, Piedra Visa
Joeoy Harris, West Mesa
Keon Harris, West Mesa
Nic Sheridan, Sandia

South All-Stars

Tim Jacobs, Oñate
Terrel DeRouen, Oñate
Deyton De La Cerda, Roswell
Carlos Hernandez, Santa Teresa
Chris Lopez, Grants
Shay Remiers, Hobbs
Jonathan Ervin, Roswell
Jose Ariao, Gadsden
Craig Cook, Clovis
Lincoln Nora, Clovis
Jeremy Ward, Gallup