Baseball/softball: LA’s Mang named district co-Player of Year

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper baseball team was rewarded for its first District 2AAAA title by picking up Coach of the Year and co-Player of the Year honors in 2009.

Meanwhile, the Hilltopper softball team grabbed four first-team All-District honors and four second-team nods for the season with its runner-up finish in 2AAAA.

The All-District teams are selected by the district managers.

Zach Mang, Los Alamos’ starting center fielder and three-hole hitter was named co-Player of the Year in 2AAAA along with Bernalillo’s ace pitcher Kellen Quintana. Mang batted over .600 this season to help the Hilltoppers to a district title, the first the team has won since joining 2AAAA in 2001.

It was the second such top district honor for Mang this academic year. He was also named the Defensive Player of the Year in 2AAAA during the football season.

Los Alamos also advanced past the first round for the first time in four straight tries with its come-from-behind win in a decisive opening round series against Moriarty. Los Alamos fell in the state quarterfinals to top-seeded Artesia.

Hilltopper manager Mike Gill was given the Coach of the Year honors by the district in 2009, guiding Los Alamos to a 17-12 regular season record and an 11-1 record in 2AAA play.

Los Alamos’ only loss on the 2AAAA baseball season was its district opener at Bernalillo. Bernalillo finished as the district’s runner-up.

Along with Mang, left fielder Eli Pulliam, pitcher Zakk Walterscheid and shortstop Jack Russell were named to the district’s first team.

In softball, Hilltopper freshman Monika Teter led a quartet of Hilltoppers on the All-2AAAA team.

Teter, a hard-throwing right-hander, won six decisions for Los Alamos this season and was among the state’s leaders in strikeouts  (137) and earned run average (2.48).

Also earning first-team honors were pitcher-infielder Stephanie Abney, third baseman Nyleen Cook and center fielder Brianna Radosevich.

Cook, a senior, was also recently named to the big school North-South All-Star Game as an alternate.

The Hilltoppers finished the 2009 season with a record of 14-13, its first season under manager Roger Anaya. They finished second behind Española Valley — which won its second-straight 2AAAA title — going 9-3 in 2AAAA play.

Here are the baseball and softball All-District 2AAAA teams for 2009. Information is provided by the district.


First team

Zachary Mang, Los Alamos

Eli Pulliam, Los Alamos

Zakkary Walterscheid, Los Alamos

Jack Russell, Los Alamos

Yoshio Najera, Bernalillo

Kellen Quintana, Bernalillo

Zach Martin, Bernalillo

Jorge Luna, Bernalillo

Ricky Gonzales, Española Valley

Mark Vigil, Española Valley

Danie Archuleta, Española Valley

Martin Grajeda, Capital

Jario Ortiz, Capital

JM Griego, Taos

Second team

Jonathan Thoma, Los Alamos

Ryan Schleft, Los Alamos

Adam Eberhart, Los Alamos

Lance Fresquez, Los Alamos

Anthony Dominguez, Bernalillo

Dillon Darnell, Bernalillo

Emerson Valencia, Bernalillo

Paul Lopez, Bernalillo

Ryan Garcia, Bernalillo

James Flores, Española Valley

Ryan Fresquez, Española Valley

Sean Salazar, Española Valley

Johnathan Garcia, Capital

Daniel Garcia, Capital

Steven Cummings, Capital

Hargis James, Taos

Dakota Swinehart, Taos

Reyes Padilla, Taos    

District 2AAAA

Players of the Year

Zach Mang, Los Alamos and Kellen Quintana, Bernalillo

District 2AAAA

Coach of the Year

Mike Gill, Los Alamos


First team

Evelyn Caballero, Española Valley

Maria Serna, Española Valley

Megan Martinez, Española Valley

Robyn Valdez, Española Valley

Monika Teter, Los Alamos

Stephanie Abney, Los Alamos

Nlyleen Cook, Los Alamos

Briana Radosevich, Los Alamos

Claudia Delara, Bernalillo

Emily Rodriguez, Bernalillo

Dee Montaño, Bernalillo

Camille Rivera, Taos

Marisa Mares, Taos

Dominique Vigil-Lovato, Capital

Clarissa Tafoya, Capital

Second team

Monica Herrera, Española Valley

Janel Martinez, Española Valley

Shelby Courtright, Los Alamos

Ashley Valdez, Los Alamos

Kristina Radosevich, Los Alamos

Micaela Christensen, Los Alamos

Des Lovato, Bernalillo

Alyssa McCully, Bernalillo

Shannon Taradi, Bernalillo

Justine Archuleta, Bernalillo

Oneta Thomas, Taos

Cindy Hoang, Taos

Liz Winter, Taos

Vandora Montoya, Capital

Ana Juarez, Capital

District 2AAAA

Player of the Year

Renee Roybal, Española Valley

District 2AAAA

Coach of the Year

Robert Garcia, Española Valley