Baseball: Toppers get 5 nods for All-District team

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper baseball team picked up five first-team honors on for District 2-4A this season.
Hilltoppers Austin Aslin, Nick Baker, Billy Cooper, Jared Mang and Zeke Zumbro were all part of the district’s first team. The 2011 baseball honorees were announced earlier this week.
Additionally, Hilltopper skipper Mike Gill, who guided the team to its third consecutive district title, was named Manager of the Year.
Los Alamos’ five selections was the best total among the 2-4A teams. Santa Fe and Española Valley each had four players make the first team.
Española Valley’s Ricky Gonzales was named the district’s Player of the Year for 2011.
Also for Los Alamos, three players were named to the district’s second team and three more were honorable mentions.
Los Alamos finished 10-2 in 2-4A play, putting it one game ahead of Bernalillo in the final standings. It will compete in the first round of the Class 4A state tournament Friday and Saturday at Artesia.

First team
Dillon Darnell, Bernalillo
Thomas Duran, Bernalillo
Ryan Garcia, Bernalillo
Jordan Ludi, Bernalillo
Jonathan Garcia, Capital
Marcus Jaramillo, Capital
Jesus A. Chavez, Española Valley
Ryan Fresquez, Española Valley
Ricky Gonzales, Española Valley
Joaquin Schoeppner, Española Valley
Austin Aslin, Los Alamos
Nick Baker, Los Alamos
Billy Cooper, Los Alamos
Jared Mang, Los Alamos
Zeke Zumbro, Los Alamos
Michael Hyde, Santa Fe

Second team
Donovan Aguilar, Bernalillo
Izzy Chavarria, Bernalillo
Forrest McCook, Bernalillo
Clinton Reynolds, Bernalillo
Devin Samora, Bernalillo
Jacob Naranjo, Capital
Cesar Rodriguez, Capital
Claudio Salinas, Capital
Cory Atencio, Española Valley
Manny Chavez, Española Valley
Ross Duran, Española Valley
Thomas Russell, Los Alamos
Henry Steinkamp, Los Alamos
JD Weiss, Los Alamos
Jason Lujan, Santa Fe

Honorable mention
Kyle Parks, Los Alamos
Jordan Sandoval, Los Alamos
Kevin Smale, Los Alamos

District 2-4A Player of the Year
Ricky Gonzales, Española Valley

Manager of the Year

Mike Gill, Los Alamos