Bairstow, Neal pick up honors

-A A +A

The University of New Mexico Lobo men’s basketball team picked up two big individual awards from the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.
Lobo center Cameron Bairstow and head coach Craig Neal earned the District 8 Player and Coach of the Year, based on voting by the USBWA’s members.
Bairstow was the leading scorer in Mountain West play this season, averaging 20.4 points per game. He was also the leader in field goal percentage, hitting on 56.5 percent of his attempts.
Neal, meanwhile, was the only first-year head coach in the nation to receive the USBWA’s top district coaching honor. Neal tied the record for most wins in UNM history for a first-year head coach this season.
Monday, the Mountain West named Bairstow as a first-team all-conference selection. The Player of the Year award went to Xavier Thames of San Diego State and Steve Fisher of San Diego State was named Coach of the Year.