Aggies are tops in preseason polls

-A A +A

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – The New Mexico State University men’s basketball team was voted to win the Western Athletic Conference title in both the WAC Coaches’ Preseason poll and the media poll.
NMSU received eight of the nine first-place votes in the coaches’ poll and all 24 first-place votes in the media poll. 
According to the voting done by the leagues’ coaches, Seattle University is picked to finish second, Bakersfield third with Idaho and Utah Valley tying for fourth. 
“Anytime we get selected at the top it creates a challenge to try to defend the target that is on our back,” said head coach Marvin Menzies.  “We have to be able to use this for motivation and at the same time we need to make sure we have our humility intact.”
Also for the Aggies, junior guard Daniel Mullings was selected as the Preseason Player of the Year in both polls.
Mullings finished the 2012-13 season as a second team All-WAC honoree while posting 13.8 points, 5.2 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game. 
“Daniel is a gym rat and I can definitely see him as someone that will be a premier player in the WAC,” Menzies said.  “He has his job cut out for him. He has done a great job for us so far and is the type of player that understands his weaknesses and continues to work on them.  As a coach, one couldn’t have a better player to work with. ”
Sophomore Sim Bhullar earned first team preseason honors on both the media and coaches’ polls as well after he was named the 2012-13 WAC Newcomer team and being named the WAC Freshman of the Year.
Bhullar finished with 10.1 points, 6.7 rebounds and 2.4 blocks per game last year and was the first NMSU player to earn freshman of the year honors since James Moore in 2001.
The Aggies have reached the NCAA Tournament three times under head coach Marvin Menzies (2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13).  The Aggies were selected first in last year’s preseason coaches’ poll and second in the media poll.
NMSU will have its annual Crimson and White scrimmage Saturday at the Pan Am Center, the first chance Aggie fans will have to look at this year’s team.