.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Letters

  • Letters to the Editor 10-23-16

    Garcia Richard’s vote inconsistent with promise

     

    I heard about the recent vote Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard made to take away $25 million from New Mexico public schools. This vote seemed inconsistent with her promise to protect education funding during the special session, so I decided to watch a video of the committee hearing and see what actually happened.

    I am very troubled by what I saw. It seems that Garcia Richard initially voted to table the bill in question, Senate Bill 10, but when she saw that all of her Democrat colleagues voted to support the bill, she changed her vote.

    This bill would have taken over $265,000 from Los Alamos Public Schools. What is more important to Garcia Richard, representing her district or protecting the party line?

    We need representatives that can think for themselves, independent of party instructions. We don’t need representatives who make empty promises or tell us one thing and then vote the opposite way when it matters.

    It’s time to hold our representatives accountable for their actions in the legislature. I’m voting for Sharon Stover because I know she’ll always put the interests of district ahead of party politics.

  • Letters to the Editor 12-4-16

    Check ‘yes’ for school bond

    In Los Alamos, we invest in the things that matter. Our time, our talents, our treasure. Whether we spend hours volunteering to judge a Science Fair, buying dinner at the spaghetti fundraiser,  or participating in the Cross Country Run-a-Thon at Sullivan Field, we invest in our kids and in their education. When January rolls around in just over a month, we have the opportunity to choose to invest in something that affects all of us at so many levels – our children, our families, our community, and our economy:  the LAPS School Bond. By checking “YES” for the bond, we put our money where our mouth is.  
    We actively choose to invest in the education of our children, improving our schools and making them safer and better learning environments.
    By checking “YES” for the bond, we invest in our community and our own educational infrastructure so that young families choose to live in our great town for the next 50+ years because we have great schools and attract the best teachers.

  • Letters to the Editor 11-25-16

    Thanks to Los Alamos Sportsmans Club

    Los Alamos Boy Scout Troop 22 would like to thank the Los Alamos Sportsmans Club (LASC) for again hosting the troop’s annual Turkey Roast in November.
    The club not only provided excellent facilities for the event, but also provided safety and marksmanship instruction for the boys. The club even donated practice ammunition and targets. The scouts had a great time, finishing up their Shooting Merit Badges and learning about safety and responsibility.
    The club’s support for cubs, scouts in general and all the other local youth organizations is exceptional.  The boys (and parents) learn about gun safety, responsibility and that patience and some work bring good results. They also have a great time in the process, and will never forget it. We are very lucky to have volunteer organizations in our town, such as the Sportsmans Club, that take the time and effort work with our children.
    Again, thanks to LASC for all they do for our youth!
    Christine Sweeney
    Troop Committee Chair
    Los Alamos Boy Scout Troop 22

    Thank you to LA first
    responders

  • Letters to the Editor 11-11-16

    PEEC thanks community, volunteers for successful Pajarito Trail Fest race

    The Pajarito Environmental Education Center would like to thank the organizers, volunteers and runners of the Pajarito Trail Fest race for once again donating a portion of the proceeds to PEEC to help get kids outside.
    The Trail Fest is an amazing event for our community. Not only is it well-run, providing excellent support and fun for the participants, it gives back to many community groups.
    This year they gave out a total of $5,500. In the spirit of the Trail Fest, PEEC will use the funds given to get kids outside on the trails, both as part of school and for fun. We’re so grateful that the Pajarito Trail Fest has supported our work for many years. A special thank you to race director Petra Pirc for helping us to raise the next generation of trail lovers.
    Katherine Watson
    Executive Director, PEEC

    LAAC thanks community for Pumpkin Glow success

    On behalf of the Los Alamos Arts Council, I would like to thank the community for coming out and supporting the Pumpkin Glow.

  • Letters to the Editor 3-13-16

    P&Z Commission invites public to Comprehensive Plan review

    During this past week, press releases, news articles, thousands of post cards, radio interview and print, electronic and radio ads have announced public meetings on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday to begin the process of public input in the coming update of the County Comprehensive Plan.
    I would like to take this opportunity to describe the function of the Comprehensive Plan in straightforward terms and invite the community to be an active part in the decision making process. Simply put, the Comprehensive Plan lays out the county’s policy and plans for land use decisions in both the Los Alamos Townsite and White Rock for the next five, 10, even 20 years.
    The current Comprehensive Plan elements are disjointed, significant portions of which were adopted in 1987. The County Charter requires and current needs demand that the Comprehensive Plan be updated to reflect current realities and provide better and more transparent guidance.

  • Letters to the Editor 3-9-16

    Round and round
    we go?

    Would you consent to costly, painful surgery that might or might not improve your health and could result in increased blockage of one of your major arteries?
    The wheels of transportation progress have turned and we’re now faced with the prospect of having our very own two-lane roundabout (RDB) built on Trinity Drive (NM 502) at Central Avenue, beginning in the Spring of 2017.
    Over the past 20 years or so, roundabout proponents have generated three large proposals. The most recent grand plan, in 2011, proposed reducing Trinity to two lanes and installing nine roundabouts. A $300K transportation study was performed by MIG, Inc., a roundabout engineering firm. After review of the study by several concerned county residents, the County Council obtained a second professional opinion that confirmed the citizens’ review: the proposed scheme would not operate as claimed by MIG, but would create a traffic nightmare. (More historical and technical details are available at wcmead.org.)

  • Letters to the Editor 2-19-16

    LA County owes Marquez debt of gratitude

    Richard Marquez recently left the Los Alamos National Laboratory after working there for over 10 years. Most people do not know that before working at LANL, he worked as a Department of Energy official in the Albuquerque office. During his tenure there, he provided significant assistance to Los Alamos County.
    Los Alamos County borrowed over $110 million to finance their hydroelectric facilities and other projects. After the bonds were issued, the market changed and it was to the county’s advantage to refinance those bonds. By doing so, they could save thousands of dollars per year. The transaction was held up in a disagreement on how to split the savings between DOE and the county. The county was in danger of missing the window of opportunity to refinance the bonds because of this disagreement. Richard stepped in and said that this was ridiculous. The DOE and the county are arguing over hundreds of dollars when thousands of dollars could be saved. He took an active part in the further negotiations with the county and hammered out a compromise that was fair.

  • Letter to the editor 2-12-16

    Bartlit unaware of LANL’s various contributions

    As usual, John Bartlit’s Sunday column on Structural Health Monitoring is wise, insightful and informative.
    But it is somewhat startling that he was unaware of SHM, as Los Alamos National Laboratory has been a significant contributor both in applying techniques, such as frequency response (sound spectra) measurements for both validating parts (such as castings) and in situ monitoring (such as metal beam bridges) for corrosion or stress accumulation leading to cracking.
    LANL has also contributed to designs for such monitors that can be powered and report without grid connections (reducing costs and enhancing remote sensing capabilities).
    While Lab publications can be painfully self-congratulatory, they are worth at least skimming for the many technological developments carried out here that they report regularly.
    Terry Goldman
    Los Alamos

  • Letter to the Editor 1-24-16

    Vote yes on schools bond

    Because we don't have our own children, we were supporters and observers of our schools system as community members and property owners, until a young nephew came to live with us and attend Los Alamos High School.  What he found was a system that had the resources not just to teach reading, writing, science, math and computer skills, but to offer music, sports, debate, and many other extracurricular programs.  All of these things helped him learn and grow in many ways, and he was well prepared for college.
    The HB33 schools bond, on which Los Alamos citizens can vote by mail no later than Jan. 26, provides money to maintain our schools and buy needed equipment and facilities.  As a County Councilor, I have consistently voted against raising the county's portion of property taxes, in part because I believe this community prefers that property taxes should go first to support our schools. Good schools benefit everyone, not just in the young lives changed for the better, but by building a prosperous community with good property values.  Please join us in voting yes for the HB33 schools bond.
    Pete Sheehey
    Los Alamos County Councilor
    Naishing Key

  • Letters to the Editor 1-22-16

    Congrats to Larry Baca for his years as coach

    As LAHS boys track and field exits the Larry Baca-era of 30 years as coach consider: Larry has been inducted into NM Coaches Hall of Fame; his teams have won two state championships and were in contention several other years. He produced 43 individual, 13 relay state champions and five state records – four of which are current. And, his charges have set 13 of 19 event records at LAHS. Most telling of his coaching depth and consistency is that of the top 10 performances by LAHS boys in each of the 19 events, 167 of the 190 listings are his guys! (Larry is on two of these lists, javelin and shot, from his days as a Topper!)
    Larry’s teams were particularly strong on relays where they accounted for 37 of 40 listings and 13 state championships.
    Congratulations to Larry Baca and all his athletes for making the ‘Toppers a force to contend with in high school track.
    Wayne Morris
    Los Alamos

    Support HB33 for schools, community and children

    As a resident and homeowner, my property value is dependent on the quality of the schools. I support the HB33 Referendum and open enrollment.