.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Letters

  • Letters to the Editor 1-1-17

    Thankful for support of Be a Santa to a Senior

    On behalf of the Home Instead Senior Care office serving Santa Fe and Los Alamos, we would like to thank the community for its overwhelming support o the Be a Santa to a Senior program this holiday season.
    Community members in Santa Fe and Los Alamos generously donated over 800 gifts for more than 430 seniors through this year’s program – all of which were wrapped and delivered by volunteers, just in time for holidays.
    Many of the gifts were for everyday needs such as socks, shirts, blankets and toiletries.
    The 2016 program marked our most successful Be a Santa to a Senior program to date.
    We would like to especially thank the following Santa Fe and Los Alamos organizations that partnered with us this year: Christus St. Vincent Hospital, Walmart, Mary Esther Gonzalez Senior Center, Betty Ehart Senior Center, Santa Fe Place Mall, the Santa Fe Care Center and the City of Santa Fe Senior Services. Over the past several weeks, these businesses and organizations, along with all the donors and volunteers in our community have brightened the holidays by bringing both gifts and companionship to seniors in need.
    Ken Hendricks
    Los Alamos

    Many good reasons to vote yes on UNM-LA mill levy

  • Letters to the Editor

    Support higher education with mill levy

     

    Higher education is essential to the productivity and innovation of our workforce in New Mexico. College-educated workers earn higher wages and experience lower levels of unemployment than do workers with less education. Research done by the American Association of University Women (AAUW) forecasts that by 2020, two out of every three jobs will require some postsecondary education. For many women, that education comes through attending community colleges like UNM-Los Alamos.

    The Coordinating Council of the Los Alamos branch of AAUW strongly supports the mil-levy increase sought by UNM-LA. While its enrollment is growing, the college’s state funding continues to shrink, threatening its ability to provide the innovative programs that benefit our community. For example, it offers Los Alamos High School students free dual-credit courses, which not only enrich their curriculum but give them valuable college-level credits. Through its Early College and Career Academy, LAHS students can work toward a certificate in emergency medical services, electromechanical technology, or marketing by the time they graduate from high school. 

  • Letters to the Editor 12-25-16

    Mill levy is important for UNM-LA, County

    Many individuals considering the upcoming special school election are asking UNMLA what happened after the failed mil election in 2013. What financial impacts did the campus sustain and how did it respond? Providing that information may help frame the challenge UNMLA is facing moving forward as it continues to serve the Los Alamos community.
    After the 2013 election, UNMLA was faced with difficult decisions to determine which programs and services were essential to UNMLA and which ones could continue to be supported by the anticipated revenue sources. Based on that careful review, the campus underwent a 15% budget reduction and reallocation of all resources to those identified programs and services deemed essential in meeting our mission of preparing students to transfer, creating pathways to careers, and serving those with a passion for lifelong learning. It is important to note that the 15% reduction came after years of belt tightening that included eliminating campus functions and outsourcing other services to create cost savings.

  • Letters to the Editor 12-21-16

    Thank you from Children’s Christmas Bazaar

     

    Christmas is almost here! I would like to thank the Los Alamos community for their generosity in supporting the Children’s Christmas Bazaar at Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church during the Winterfest weekend. You were generous with giving of your time and your donations. 

    At least seventy-five people helped with set up, baking, greeting, wrapping (at least 25 wrappers wrapping all at the same time!), helping children select gifts and cleaning up. And this all occurs within a twenty-five-hour period of time. I would especially like to recognize the young and old from Trinity on the Hill and the high school students from National Honor Society and Key Club who continue to offer their support every year. 

    Imagine the joy on the children’s faces as they present their gifts to loved ones and friends this Christmas! Your support will bring joy to more than 200 children. It truly takes a community like ours to make this event a success.

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year!

    Beth Pattillo

    Children’s Christmas Bazaar Chair

     

  • Letter to the Editor 4-13-16

    Explosive ideas for Roundabout art

    First, dear county councilors, thank you for standing your ground on the new roundabout at Central and Trinity. It showed loyalty to our commuters.  It was the right and thoughtful thing to do.
    Second, this is about a plea – a recommendation – for utilizing the space in the center of the new roundabout.
    The question to be asked is, what do we want people to know about Los Alamos as they enter (or leave) the town?
    The recommendation is this: we want them to know that this town was central to building the weapon which ended WWII and put up the nuclear umbrella which has preserved world peace from then until now.
    And how? By placing in the center of that roundabout some artifact central to the mission of our town. Something(s) which unmistakably points to the great things which have happened here, and which are still happening here, and how important they are to the nation and to the world. It should be big, and inspire the imagination of all who enter this town concerning the greatness of our past and of our future.  Several Cruise missiles would be good! Or a missile launching pad with missiles, etc.

  • Letters to the Editor 4-1-16

    We all need to talk about nuclear weapons

    The current presidential race is chaotic, and the public doesn’t realize how close nine different world leaders are to their nuclear launch triggers.
    We all worry about Kim Jong Un’s plans, but we are not aware of what U.S. presidential candidates, if elected, could do with our nuclear arsenal.
    We, the people, have an opportunity to make our voices heard if we speak up.
    We can’t remain quiet in this volatile world. Why spend $1 trillion, as Obama has suggested, to modernize our nuclear arsenal, when that money could be used for education, renewable energy development, or diplomatic aid to other countries.
    We should push all political candidates to take a stand in favor of the elimination of all nuclear weapons. The thought that 15,000 massively destructive weapons can whisk around the world in minutes is much more terrifying than any candidate’s antics.
    Every American president going back several decades has tried to reduce our arsenal, and substantial progress has been made.
    But what worries me is that one doesn’t hear much from the current Republican and Democratic candidates.
    Make yourself heard around the world, and pressure the candidates to address the elimination of nuclear weapons.
    Chris Warren

  • Letter to the Editor 3-30-16

    No straight answers with roundabout project

  • Letter to the editor 3-23-16

    Looking for New Mexico information

    Dear people of the great state of New Mexico:
    Hello! I am a fourth grade student in North Carolina. In fourth grade, we do state reports and I have chosen your state! I am very excited to learn about the great state of New Mexico as I work on my report.
    Most of the information that we get for our reports will be from books and web sites. We also like to get information from people who live in the state, too. This is why I am writing to you. I was hoping that you would be willing to send me some items to help me learn more about the best things in your state. It could be things like postcards, maps, pictures, souvenirs, general information, this newspaper article, or any other items that would be useful. You can mail items to the address below. I really appreciate your help!
    Jimmy Maple
    Mrs. Hughey’s Class
    Charlotte Latin School
    9502 Providence Road
    Charlotte, NC  28277

  • Letters to the Editor 3-16-16

    Reopening of roundabout discussion would cause delays, cost money

    I was very disappointed to see at the recent Transportation Board meeting the re-opening of the NM 502 Roundabout discussion. This issue has been going on for a few years and has had a full and complete public input during that time and was considered in public meetings of the full Transportation Board and approved by the full County Council.
    The design approved was done by a major traffic-engineering firm (Ourston Engineering) and has been approved by New Mexico State Highway engineers. This design (in my humble opinion as a citizen and taxpayer) is a big improvement for NM 502 and is now funded with state and county funds. This decision has been already made and with full public input. The reopening of this discussion now is entirely unwarranted and way too much time was allowed in the recent Transportation Board meeting to roundabout opponents in promoting their views.  
    I think I would trust the professional opinions from New Mexico State Traffic professional engineers and the consulting firm, Ourston Engineering, so I have no comments on the design, which is being finalized now by the state highway department.

  • Letters to the Editor 10-23-16

    Garcia Richard’s vote inconsistent with promise

     

    I heard about the recent vote Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard made to take away $25 million from New Mexico public schools. This vote seemed inconsistent with her promise to protect education funding during the special session, so I decided to watch a video of the committee hearing and see what actually happened.

    I am very troubled by what I saw. It seems that Garcia Richard initially voted to table the bill in question, Senate Bill 10, but when she saw that all of her Democrat colleagues voted to support the bill, she changed her vote.

    This bill would have taken over $265,000 from Los Alamos Public Schools. What is more important to Garcia Richard, representing her district or protecting the party line?

    We need representatives that can think for themselves, independent of party instructions. We don’t need representatives who make empty promises or tell us one thing and then vote the opposite way when it matters.

    It’s time to hold our representatives accountable for their actions in the legislature. I’m voting for Sharon Stover because I know she’ll always put the interests of district ahead of party politics.