Two LANL scientists named ACS Fellows

-A A +A

Rebecca Chamberlin and Donivan Porterfield, both of Los Alamos National Laboratory’s Actinide Analytical Chemistry group, have been selected as a 2014 Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Rebecca Chamberlin
An inorganic chemist and radiochemist, Chamberlin is currently the co-principal investigator for development of novel microreactor-based systems for plutonium process chemistry and one-step extraction and separation of rare earths at the laboratory. She is also managing the startup of newly constructed nuclear material analysis laboratories in the Radiological Laboratory Utility and Office Building.
In addition to her scientific role, Chamberlin has been serving as a program manager for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation research and development since 2008. In this position, she oversees R&D initiatives intended to improve the United States’ capabilities for detection and characterization of worldwide nuclear proliferation.
“I’m so pleased that the American Chemical Society acknowledges the important contributions that laboratory chemists are making to national security,” Chamberlin said. “This has been a rewarding career path, and I am honored to be recognized by the ACS.”
Chamberlin started her career at the laboratory in 1993 as a director’s Postdoctoral Fellow after receiving her doctoral degree in inorganic chemistry from Cornell University. In 2010, she was recognized with a Los Alamos National Laboratory STAR Award for her mentoring and professional accomplishments. Chamberlin has also received a Distinguished Performance Award at Los Alamos and four Defense Program Awards of Excellence.
At Los Alamos, she has served on the Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund advisory committee for five years and has mentored students, postdocs, scientists and engineers at all levels.

Donivan Porterfield
Porterfield is a radiochemist engaged in research and development and analytical services supporting stockpile stewardship and nuclear forensics and nonproliferation. His work also includes plutonium heat source fabrication for deep space exploration and national security applications, nuclear material safeguards, radiobioassay, environmental monitoring and more.
He contributes significantly to the laboratory’s nuclear forensics mission, where his work involves development and qualification of radioanalytical methods for plutonium and other actinides. Porterfield has also assisted in developing numerous American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards related to the nuclear fuel cycle and to water quality standards. He received the Max Hecht Award, the Harlan J. Anderson Award and the Standards Development award, which are three major ASTM awards, and was made a fellow of the ASTM for his service.
“While such recognition focuses on the individual, such is only possible in an environment of cooperation and collaboration that the laboratory and organizations such as the American Chemical Society both encourage and nurture; a little bit of hard work doesn’t hurt either,” Porterfield said.
This initiative, and similar efforts in other local sections, led the Division of Chemical Education to develop a national program that provides similar benefits to teachers across the nation.
At the laboratory, Porterfield has won two Distinguished Performance awards, the Distinguished Mentor Award and a Pollution Prevention Award. He received a master’s degree in chemistry from the University of Texas-Austin in 1990 and began working at the laboratory in 1997.