Soccer: District names Neal, Delano top players of season

-A A +A
By The Staff

Both the Los Alamos Hilltopper boys and girls soccer teams earned big honors by District 2AAAA this season.

Los Alamos’ girls picked up eight first team All-District nods for the 2009 regular season and the Hilltopper boys matched that total.

The All-2AAAA teams were announced Monday by district officials.

Leading the way for Los Alamos’ boys team was Graham Delano, who was named the district’s Player of the Year for 2009. On the girls side, Los Alamos’ Kelsey Neal was also named the Player of the Year.

Neal, a senior, led Los Alamos in points this season, compiling 47 total points, which placed her tied for fourth among all scorers in Class AAAA. Neal, who was a 2008 All-State Honorble Mention, is one of the top midfielders in the state and gave the Hilltoppers a dominant, physical presence throughout the season.

In 2009, Neal finished with 14 goals and handed out 19 assists. Her assist total led all of AAAA and was the second-highest total in the state in all classifications.

Delano, a junior, was one of the top fullbacks in Class AAAA this season. As the Hilltoppers’ sweeper, Delano was a big part of the reason Los Alamos allowed just one goal through eight District 2AAAA games.

If you subscribe to the newspaper, you receive FREE access to all the exclusive content of the web site! Simply register to receive uninterrupted access to our award-winning and in-depth local online content!

Renew Current or Past Subscription / Register for Online Subscription

If you currently subscribe or have subscribed in the past to the Los Alamos Monitor, then simply find your account number on your mailing label and enter it below.

Click the question mark below to see where your account ID appears on your mailing label.

Newspaper Acct. ID:
Street Address:
(exactly as it appears on the label)

If you are a subscriber and you do not know your account ID or don't have a copy of your newspaper available that shows the information on the address label you can click continue below to search for your account.

New Subscription/30 Day Free Trial Account

If you are new to the award winning Los Alamos Monitor and wish to get a subscription or simply gain access to our online content then please enter your ZIP code below and continue to setup your account.

ZIP Code:

Create a limited access account.
Register to participate in community forums, post on the community calendar, blog etc. This registration does not give you full access to read our award winning content, etc.

The Los Alamos Monitor | lacirculation@lamonitor.com | 505-662-4185
256 DP Road, Los Alamos, NM 87544
Office Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday