Norman storms back to win title

-A A +A

GOLF: Defending champ fires 4-under Sunday to win

By The Staff

Curt Norman posted the best score of the 2011 City Championship tournament Sunday to claim his second consecutive title.
Norman, who was a shot behind day one leader Ted Ball heading into Sunday’s second round, posted a 4-under 68 to run away with the 2011 title. Norman finished with a two-day total of 143, easily outdistancing Ball.
Ball, who had the low round of 74 on a generally high-scoring round Saturday, finished Sunday’s round with a 6-over 78 on his attempt to win his first ever City title. His two-day total of 152, however, was still good enough for second place.
The City Championship concluded its 64th year of play at Los Alamos Golf Course Sunday. The 36-hole event attracted 55 golfers in all, just slightly more than half of the 2010 field, which was a tournament record.
Scores mostly improved in the men’s title flight Sunday. In all, eight of the flight’s 12 competitors had a better showing in round two.
Norman, who held on for a win in a playoff to claim his first ever City championship, was one of only two players in the entire tournament to break par — John Stam, playing in the senior men’s flight, was the other.
Also on the leaderboard, Gary Rich and Cale Jones, both past City champions, finished tied for third with a total of 154 strokes.

Here are the 2011 City Championship results for the men’s championship flight and the men’s blue flight:

Championship flight

Curt Norman 75-68—143
Ted Ball 74-78—152
Gary Rich 80-74—154
Cale Jones 78-76—154
Tim Johnson 76-79—155
Kurt Anast 75-81—156
Kenny Walker 80-78—158
Thomas Herrera 82-80—162
Kevin Brake 81-83—164
Darren Knox 85-79—164
Brett Hollander 89-79—168
Bruce Norman 85-83—168

Men’s blue flight

Larry Rich 77-81—158
Eddie Sanchez 82-83—165
Steve Birdsell 84-83—167
Jamie Aslin 85-84—169
Tim Branch 88-83—171
Stefan Sutton 88-84—172
Don Branch 84-89—173
Karl Thomas 89-84—173
Devon Engleman 83-91—174
James Keane 90-84—174
Min Park 89-84—174
Jim Liberty 87-88—175
James Merhege 91-88—179
Mike Finney 87-93—180
Jim Coy 95-876—182
Brian Schamber 96-88—184
Bryan Fearey 94-97—191
Eric Rich 95-97—192
Art Brown 96-97—193