Letter: Thanks for supporting the Tour de Los Alamos

-A A +A
By The Staff

Over 200 bicycle riders registered for the 37th annual Tour de Los Alamos bicycle race on Sunday, July 12, 2009 in Los Alamos, with approximately half the participants competing in the citizens one-lap event (28 miles), and half the participants competing in the licensed two-lap (56 miles) or three-lap event (84 miles).  

The youngest participant in the entire event, 14-year-old Gabriel Intrator from Los Alamos, was also the overall winner of the Citizen’s Race.

Bicycle enthusiasts and scouts need to remember Gabriel’s name as he will have a long future in the bicycling profession. Fortunato Ferrera, a new postdoctoral student at Los Alamos National Laboratory, won the three lap event in a four-way show down at the finish line.

Numerous volunteers and fans spotted the entire race course through Los Alamos and White Rock in the 90-degree weather, cheering on the racers and providing traffic control support at all intersections along the course. Water bottles and refreshments were gladly accepted by the racers as they sped by.  

Los Alamos County Police and N.M. State Highway Patrol led traffic control efforts. The Los Alamos Auxiliary Fire Brigade was on standby throughout the race in the event of any injuries.

With a major emphasis on vehicular and bicycle safety, the brigade was happy to report no calls.  

The Roadrunners Cycling Club would like to emphasize that this event was successfully completed thanks to the countless hours of our dedicated volunteers and through the gracious donations of our sponsors.  

We’d specifically like to thank Los Alamos National Laboratory, Chip Cooper of Sol Web Solutions, Los Alamos National Bank, Northwind, James Rickman, Caroline Spaeth, Pet Pangaea, Buffalo Thunder Resort, CB Fox, Bentleys, Ruby K’s, Los Alamos Monitor, Rebound Physical Therapy, the Family YMCA, Raw Revolution, Los Alamos Medical Center, El Parasol Restaurant, Los Alamos Commerce and Development Corporation, Starbucks and all the volunteers that donated their time to help this event.

We look forward to next year’s Tour de Los Alamos Bicycle Race.

Carolyn Zerkle & Bruce Letellier,

Co-Directors, Tour de Los Alamos