LAHS Athletics: Reagor, Chitanvis named top athletes

-A A +A
By The Staff

A pair of soccer standouts were given the highest student-athlete honors at Los Alamos High School’s Athletic Awards Ceremony.

Jason Reagor and Maneesha Chitanvis were given the Leon Clendenen Award for the 2008-09 school year, the highest award bestowed by the school to its student-athletes.

The Clendenden Award, formerly known as the Virchow Award, is given to one male and one female athlete every year based on a rigid set of criteria. Athletes must be graduating seniors who maintained high academic and athletic standards, refrained from drug, alcohol or tobacco use throughout their high school careers and were positively involved in the community.

Student-athletes were nominated throughout the school year by LAHS head coaches.

Reagor was a two-sport star for the Hilltoppers, excelling in both boys soccer and track and field. Reagor was one of the top scorers in Class AAAA during the soccer season and was named to the All-State first team. In track and field, Reagor won the 100-meter state title.

Chitanvis, meanwhile, was named the Player of the Year for 2008 in girls AAAA soccer. She was the leading scorer by a wide margin in the classification during the season, finishing with a grand total of 78 points and led the Hilltoppers to a runner-up finish behind Albuquerque Academy.

Winning Coach of the Year honors was Hilltopper girls track and field coach Paul Anderson.

Anderson, who celebrated his 10th season coaching the team in 2009, led his powerful group of athletes to an overwhelming victory at the state Class AAAA meet earlier this month.

This was the second win for Anderson, who also took home Coach of the Year honors in 2003.

Also at the ceremony, LAHS standout cross country and track athlete Gareth Gilna earned three honors, including the New Mexico Athletic Directors Association Scholar Athlete Award, which he shared with Hannah Little, another veteran distance runner at LAHS.

Gilna and Little also won the Wally Walters Memorial Scholarship.

Army Reserve National Scholarship

Keyla Tumas, Zakkary Walterscheid

Wally Walters Memorial Scholarship

Gareth Gilna, Hannah Little

James Edmund Stewart Scholarship

Gareth Gilna

N.M. Athletic Directors Association Scholar Athlete Award

Gareth Gilna, Hannah Little

Assistant Coach of the Year

Don Reid

Head Coach of the Year

Paul Anderson

Leon Clendenen Student Award

Jason Reagor, Maneesha Chitanvis