Hodges, McDonald are 1st team All-4A selections

-A A +A
By The Staff

A pair of Los Alamos Hilltopper soccer players were among the top players in Class 4A during the 2013 season.


Los Alamos’ Catie McDonald and Brandon Hodges were picked for the All-State squads this year. Hodges is a senior fullback for the Hilltopper boys and McDonald is a sophomore forward for the Hilltopper girls.

The Hilltopper boys were a surprise in the 4A semifinals in November, topping Centennial in the opening round and stunning Farmington in the quarterfinals, due largely to their defensive showing. Hodges and goalkeeper Chris Parker, who was an honorable mention this year, spearheaded Los Alamos’ defensive effort in the postseason.
McDonald, meanwhile, was among the leading scorers in the state this season. McDonald finished tied for second in 4A after another first-teamer, Tatiana Limon of St. Pius X, with 70 total points (30 goals, 10 assists).

Los Alamos won its seventh consecutive District 2-4A title this season, but was upset in the first round of the state tournament by Piedra Vista.

State champion St. Pius led all schools with six first-team selections on the girls side, while Roswell earned two first-team boys selections, behind Albuquerque Academy, the team it upset to win the 4A title. The Chargers had four players on the All-State first team.

Girls Class 4A

First team

Goalkeeper: Tatiana Sarracino, St. Pius
Defense: Brooks Brennan, Academy
Defense: Macie Clemens, St. Pius
Defense: Caroline Moss, Farmington
Midfield: Anika Gorham, Academy
Midfield: Dominique Rivera, St. Pius
Midfield: Jessica Kresl, Aztec
Midfield: Madeline Waszak, St. Pius
Forward: Michelle Baca, Academy
Forward: Caitlin Fattor, St. Pius
Forward: Tatiana Limon, St. Pius
Forward: Catie McDonald, Los Alamos

Second team

Goalkeeper: Elana Kresl, Aztec
Defense: Kassia Barber, Aztec
Defense: Stephanie Blair, Los Alamos
Defense: Darion Faulkner, St. Pius
Defense: Rikki Newland, Aztec
Midfield: Chandler Art, Los Alamos
Midfield: Riley Coleman, Farmington
Midfield: Kayli Farmer, Aztec
Midfield: Lissy Saiz, Academy
Forward: Lacy Garcia, Aztec
Forward: Hannah Kelley, Farmington
Forward: Hailey Morris, Aztec
Forward: Alexis Sanchez, St. Pius

Honorable Mention

Goalkeeper: Elena Atencio, Los Alamos
Defense: Kristin Funsten, Los Alamos
Midfield: Sarah Criscuolo, Los Alamos
Midfield: Jordan Henson, Los Alamos
Forward: Julia Haagenstad, Los Alamos
Forward: Meghan McDonald, Los Alamos

Player of the Year

Amanda Hernandez, St. Pius

Coach of the Year

David Sullivan, St. Pius

Boys Class 4A

First team

Goalkeeper: Theo Hooker, Academy
Defense: Jonothan Campos, Roswell
Defense: Joseph Contreras, Roswell
Defense: Jered Dominguez-Trujillo, Academy
Defense: Brandon Hodges, Los Alamos
Midfield: Ben Christensen, Academy
Midfield: Luis Rios-Olivas, Capital
Midfield: Chase Snyder, Academy
Forward: Alejandro Garcia, Los Lunas
Forward: Bryan Jaramillo, Academy
Forward: Chris Lovato, Los Lunas
Forward: Jason Alarcon, Capital

Second team

Goalkeeper: Brandon Rodriguez, Roswell
Defense: Elijah Lucero, Academy
Defense: Helian Najera, Capital
Defense: Diego Pichardo, Capital
Defense: Walker Simpson, Academy
Defense: Anthony Valdez, Roswell
Midfield: Ibis Armendariz, Roswell
Midfield: Alex Arvizo, St. Pius
Midfield: Luis Garcia, Roswell
Midfield: Nathaniel Pavlik, Farmington
Forward: Sergio Carvajal, Roswell
Forward: Victor Garcia, Roswell
Forward: Collin Stone, Los Alamos
Forward: Brayan Perez, Capital

Honorable Mention
Goalkeeper: Chris Parker, Los Alamos
Midfield: Eric Schmalz, Los Alamos
Midfield: William Steinkamp, Los Alamos

Player of the Year
Fernando Sanchez, Roswell

Coach of the Year
James Vernon, Roswell