Football: LA picks up big win in the Valley

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos Hilltopper football team trounced the Española Valley Sundevils on the road Friday night, but that win wouldn’t be enough to keep the Hilltoppers’ district title hopes alive.

Los Alamos scored 42 unanswered points the first half of Friday night’s game against the Sundevils and allowed only an opening possession Sundevils’ score in the second half to earn the District 2AAAA victory.

But the Hilltoppers’ slim hopes of picking up a second-straight district title were dashed Friday. The first-place Bernalillo Spartans crushed the Taos Tigers 41-8 at Taos Friday night to clinch the 2009 district crown.

Los Alamos fell at Bernalillo Oct. 23 in a tight 14-0 contest. Following last week’s win, Bernalillo needed just one victory in either of its last two contests to claim its first district title since joining 2AAAA in 2005.

The Hilltoppers have just one regular season game remaining, that scheduled for Friday at home against the Capital Jaguars.

The Jaguars, who were idle last week, have identical regular season (3-6) and district (2-1) records as the Hilltoppers.

The winner of Friday’s game will finish in second place in 2AAAA and will be at the mercy of the New Mexico Activities Association’s at-large selection committee.

Heading into the final week of the regular season, 11 Class AAAA teams could potentially finish with a .500 season record or above, which doesn’t bode well for either Capital or Los Alamos. In all, 12 teams advance to the state playoffs, the six district winners and six at-large selections.

Española Valley, meanwhile, will finish in the district basement this season under first-year head coach Bill Moon.

Here are Friday night’s football scores from around the state.

Albuquerque Academy 56, Ruidoso 10

Artesia 48, Roswell 7

Aztec 20, Farmington 13

Belen 63, Grants 7

Bernalillo 41, Taos 8

Bloomfield 62, Crownpoint 0

Elida 65, Dora 18

Fort Sumner 54, Mescalero Apache 14

Hot Springs 33, Cobre 27

Las Cruces 38, Alamogordo 13

Mayfield 24, Onate 0

Newcomb 40, Cuba 7

Socorro 26, Hatch 21

Springer 72, Foothill 22

Tularosa 27, Lordsburg 23