Cross country: LA boys, girls win Saturday at SFIS

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Los Alamos boys and girls cross country clubs both scored their first team wins of the season at Saturday’s Santa Fe Indian School Invitational.

Saturday’s race was held in and around the SFIS campus with 20 teams, mostly from the northern New Mexico area, in attendance.

Both Hilltopper squads posted impressive victories at the meet. The Hilltopper boys scored 53 points, topping a solid Pojoaque Elks’ contingent that finished as the meet’s runners-up with 75 points. Los Alamos’ girls, meanwhile, finished with just 44 points, just slightly more than half the total of the host SFIS Braves, another very good small school, which had 86 team points.

Individually, Kyle Pittman won his second race in as many weeks and his third race of the season, posting an impressive time of 16:42. Pittman, the top runner in the state, hasn’t finished worse than third in any race he’s run this year.

Not far behind Pittman was Tim Wermer of Los Alamos. Wermer, who had an impressive showing a week earlier at the Albuquerque Academy Invitational, was sixth overall (17:24).

Alexander Romero, Daniel Roybal and Josh Bowman – who, along with teammate Ian Pulliam was feeling under the weather heading into Saturday’s race – all cracked the top 20 individually.

On the girls side, Hilltopper Holly Walker finished third overall Saturday with her finish time of 20:44. Walker paced three Hilltopper runners who finished in the top 10 individually, guiding the team to its impressive win.

Megan Reader was eighth overall Saturday, finishing right behind impressive freshman Jennifer Mooday.

Los Alamos’ girls club, which  is starting several runners this season who had no previous varsity experience, also got good outings from freshman Teresa Sandoval (14th, 21:41) and eighth-grader Emily Pittman (22nd, 22:14).

The Hilltopper teams are off this week. They will compete Oct. 17 at the Rio Rancho Invitational, which is run on the same basic course that the state Class AAAA championship race will be run on next month.

Detailed results in the Monitor, Oct. 6, 2009.