Cross country: Hipwood named to All-RMAC squad

-A A +A
By Mike Cote

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Rob Hipwood, current Los Alamos High School co-head coach of the cross country program, was selected by his former collegiate conference as one of the top runners of all time.

Hipwood, along with nine other runners from his alma mater, Adams State College, was selected to the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference All-Time cross country team.

The RMAC is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2009. The RMAC is the fourth oldest conference in the country and the oldest in the western United States.

As part of the Centennial Celebration, all-time teams are being selected in 19 RMAC sports.

The RMAC All-Time Men’s Cross Country Team was selected by a committee of 11, with a representative from each of the conferences school’s that participate in the sport of men’s cross country.

The RMAC has records of men’s cross country since 1972, but has sponsored it as a conference sport since at least the 1960s.

“We wanted to celebrate our centennial by reminding people of the rich history in the RMAC,” said conference commissioner J.R. Smith. “We’ve had tremendous student-athletes and coaches over the years, and these all-time teams will reflect some of the best we’ve ever had.”

In 2007, Hipwood was named to the ASC Hall of Fame. He was a top athlete at the Division II school in Alamosa, Colo. from 1983-1986.

Pat Porter, another ASC graduate, was picked as the top men’s performer in the history of the conference. Porter graduated in 1981.

The RMAC All-Time Coach is ASC’s Joe Vigil, who led the Grizzlies to 14 national championships in men’s cross country.

The RMAC’s Centennial Celebration will take place on July 11, 2009 at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs.

A new all-time team will be recognized each month leading up to the celebration.

RMAC Men’s Cross Country All-Time Team:

Pat Porter, Adams State 1978-1981

Michael Aish, Western State 1998-2001

Rick Robirds, Adams State 1986-1989

Rob Hipwood, Adams State 1983-1986

Phillip Castillo, Adams State 1989-1993

Peter de la Cerda, Adams State 1991-1994

Kelly Christensen, Western State 2002-2005

Shane Healy, Adams State 1990-1993

Dan Caulfield, Adams State 1992-1996

Celedonio Rodriguez, Adams State 2000-2003

Rubin McRae, Western State 1999-2002

Sam Montoya, Adams State 1979-1982

Coach - Joe Vigil,

Adams State