Candidates file for board seats

-A A +A
By Jennifer Garcia

Three seats are open on the Los Alamos School Board and two are up for grabs on the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos Advisory Board. Candidates hoping to fill those seats submitted their declarations of candidacy at the county courthouse on Tuesday.

Three Los Alamos residents are running for the school board seats currently held by Joan Ahlers, Jody Benson and Kevin Honnell. Honnell is running for re-election in district four, while neither Ahlers nor Benson are seeking re-election. Judith Bjarke-McKenzie is running for Benson’s district three seat and David R. Foster is running for Ahlers’s district five seat.

Meanwhile, due to Mike Wismer’s resignation last spring, a seat on the UNM-LA Advisory Board needs to be filled.

Five candidates have thrown their hats in the ring, hoping to fill positions three and four on the board. Position three is being vacated by Marie Chiravalle, as her term expires next year. She will not seek re-election.
Candidates for position four include Ralph L. Phelps, Linda H. Hull and Jody Benson. Candidates for position three include Michael D. DiRosa and Stephen T. Boerigter.

Next Tuesday marks the deadline for declaration of UNM-LA Advisory Board and school board write-in candidates, while Jan. 4 is the deadline for registration of voters for the school board election.

Absentee and early voting will be from Jan. 7-28. Election day is Feb. 1.