Abney named Player of the Year

-A A +A
By The Staff

Los Alamos Hilltopper softball player Stephanie Abney was named the Player of the Year in District 2AAAA this season.

Meanwhile, both Los Alamos’ baseball and softball managers, Mike Gill and Roger Anaya were selected as Coaches of the Year in the district.

All-District 2AAAA selections were released last week following the conclusion of the regular season.

Both Los Alamos diamond teams were well represented on this season’s all-district squads. Both Hilltopper teams won the 2AAAA season championship with the baseball team going 11-1 in district play and the softball team sweeping all 12 of its district contests for 2010.

Abney, a senior second baseman and pitcher for the Hilltoppers, finished second among the team’s regular starting lineup in batting average (.440) and slugging percentage (.560). Abney led the team in RBI (33) and was third on the team in hits (33) and total bases (42).

In the pitching circle, Abney finished the season with a stellar 8-1 record and struck out 56 batters in 49-1/3 innings.

The Hilltopper softball team earned five other first team nods — Micaela Christensen, Shelby Courtright, Brianna Radosevich, Kristina Radosevich and Monika Teter — and three second-team nods.

For Los Alamos’ baseball team, Gill earned his second Coach of the Year honor in a row, guiding the Hilltoppers to their second straight 2AAAA title.

Bernalillo’s Dillon Darnell was named the baseball Player of the Year.

First team baseball selections for Los Alamos included Austin Aslin, Scott Berkebile, Lukas Coker, Ryan Schleft and Michael Young.

Here are the All-District 2AAAA selections for 2010:


First team

Austin Aslin, Los Alamos

Scott Berkebile, Los Alamos

Lukas Coker, Los Alamos

Ryan Schleft, Los Alamos

Michael Young, Los Alamos Thomas Duran, Bernalillo

Paul Lopez, Bernalillo

Zac Martin, Bernalilo

Mike Tenorio, Bernalillo

Jonathan Garcia, Capital

Ryan Fresquez, Española Valley

Ricky Gonzales, Española Valley

Sean Salazar, Española Valley

Reyes Padilla, Taos

Second team

Billy Cooper, Los Alamos

Thomas Russell, Los Alamos

Ryan Garcia, Bernalillo

Jordan Ludi, Bernalillo

Hector Gomez, Capital

Cesar Rodriguez, Capital

Cory Atencio, Española Valley

Jesus Chavez, Española Valley

Joaquin Schoeppner, Española Valley

Dakota Swinehart, Taos

Chris Vigil, Taos

Player of the Year

Dillon Darnell, Bernalillo

Coach of the Year

Mike Gill, Los Alamos


First team

Micaela Christensen, Los Alamos

Shelby Courtright, Los Alamos

Briana Radosevich, Los Alamos

Kristina Radosevich, Los Alamos

Monika Teter, Los Alamos

Dee Montaño, Bernalillo

Shannon Taradie, Bernalillo

Marissa Valencia, Bernalillo

Mariah Miera, Capital

Evelyn Caballero, Española Valley

Kayla Romero, Española Valley

Renee Roybal, Española Valley

Dianne De La Cruz, Taos

Monica Trujillo, Taos

Second team

Megan Breiner, Los Alamos

Samantha D’Anna, Los Alamos

Ashley Valdez, Los Alamos

Claudia Delara, Bernalillo

Des Lovato, Bernalillo

Gabriella Montaño, Bernalillo

Emily Rodriguez, Bernalillo

Shantel Kilkinney, Capital

Keisha Salinas, Capital

Camille Rivera, Taos

Andrea Gonzales, Taos

Player of the Year

Stephanie Abney

Coach of the Year

Roger Anaya